SFC: O'Dwyer goal downs Nobber

May 02, 2011

Dunshaughlin's Cathal O'Dwyer
Dunshaughlin 1-12
Nobber 1-7

Dunshaughlin made it two wins from two in the Senior Football Championship with a hard earned victory over a gallant Nobber side in Simonstown.

A strong cross field wind made conditions very tricky for both sets of players. Cathal O'Dwyer opened the scoring for the Gary Farrelly managed Dunshaughlin outfit with a left footed effort in the first minute. But it was Nobber who enjoyed much the better of the opening twenty minutes. A Fergus Toolan point was the sole Dunshaughlin riposte as five points from the North Meath side gave them a three point lead. But Dunshaughlin raised the tempo approaching the interval. Conor Staunton tapped over twice from almost the same spot. Trevor Dowd pointed a free after he himself was fouled and then on the stroke of half time Denis Kealy pointed brilliantly from distance to give Dunshaughlin a one point half time advantage 0-6 to 0-5.

However immediately from the restart Brian Farrell goaled for Nobber to put them into the lead once more. Dowd pointed another free in the 34th minute to leave the minimum between the sides. Three minutes later came the key score of the game when Dowd brilliantly found O'Dwyer in space with only the keeper to beat. He made no mistake firing low to the net putting his side 1-7 to 1-5 to the good. Nobber pulled one back in the 40th minute only for Conor Devereux to restore Dunshaughlin's two point lead with a fine left footed score six minutes later. Nobber's hopes were raised once more with another point in the 49th minute but this proved to be their last score. A minute later Ray Maloney overturned a ball in midfield, soloed forward and popped the ball over the bar. Two points from Niall Murphy and another from substitute Richie Kealy left five between the sides as referee Colm McManus blew the final whistle.

Best for Dunshaughlin were Alastair Doyle, Mick Ahern, Ray Maloney, Trevor Dowd and Cathal O'Dwyer.

Dunshaughlin - Ronan Gogan, Alastair Doyle, Caoimhin King, Mick Ahern, Fergus Toolan 0-1, Tommy Johnson, Denis Kealy 0-1, Paddy McHale, Ray Maloney 0-1, Conor Staunton 0-2, Trevor Dowd 0-2, Niall Murphy 0-2, Cathal O'Dwyer 1-2, Conor Devereux 0-1, Martin Reilly. Substitutes - John Crimmins for McHale, Richie Kealy 0-1 for Staunton, Anthony Johnson for Reilly

Most Read Stories