Killoe end 10-year wait with league win

October 14, 2005
Killoe Young Emmets were crowned All-County Football League Division 1 champions following their 1-10 to 0-8 victory over Clonguish at Bertie Allen Park recently. A fortuitous goal from Sean McCormack at the start of the second half proved to be the decisive score as Killoe clinched their first senior success since 1995 when they last won the Connolly Cup. It was a deserved victory for Jimmy Gacquin's side who now have their sights set on winning the Leader Cup for the first time since 1985. The Young Emmets held a slender 0-5 to 0-4 lead at the break and they never looked back after McCormack's speculative shot deceived Clonguish 'keeper Stephen Watters and ended up in the net. Meanwhile, Legan Sarsfields took the All-County League Division 3 'A' title following a 0-8 to 0-6 win over neighbours Mostrim at Michael Moran Park. Paul Ross was outstanding at midfield as Legan secured their place in Division 2 for next season.

Most Read Stories