Adare force replay

October 21, 2002
Monaleen.......1-7 Adare...........0-10 Adare's dream of capturing both the Limerick SHC and SFC titles lives on after they came from three points down to snatch a draw with Monaleen in the football decider at the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday 20th October. A week earlier, Adare recovered from a four-point deficit in the closing stages to defeat Ahane by 0-14 to 0-12 in the hurling final. The draw poses a major fixture headache for the Limerick county board as Adare are scheduled to play Mount Sion in the opening round of the Munster club hurling championship next Sunday. Monaleen looked to be on course for their first title since 1978 when Brian Geary's 11th minute goal helped them to a 1-5 to 0-2 lead at the break. Adare were favoured by the wind in the second half but, with 15 minutes remaining, they found themselves 0-5 to 1-7 in arrears. However, the west Limerick side refused to accept defeat, with Stephen Lavin (two), Brian Sexton, Michael Clifford and Conor Fitzgerald firing over unanswered points to earn them a second bite at the cherry. Adare - B Toomey, N Crowley, A O'Rahilly, D Mordan, E Fitzgerald0-1, M Clifford 0-1, D Sheehan, S Lavin 0-2, N O'Mahony, B Sexton 0-1, M Toomey, P Lavin 0-1, M Sheehan, M Foley, C Fitzgerald 0-4. Sub: C Cribbin for Crowley Monaleen - B Berkery, D Burke, J Cummins, D McAuley, F Melody, J Murphy, F Nash, B Geary 1-1, M Cummins, J O'Brien, A Kitson, A Kensey, C O'Boyle, M Gavin 0-6, JP Stokes. Sub: E Keating for Stokes Referee - M Meade (Ballylanders)

Most Read Stories