Connacht U21FC: Sligo advance over Leitrim

March 26, 2012
Seven points from impressive full forward Niall Murphy ensured the Yeats County a place in the Cadbury Connacht U21FC decider.

Sligo 0-14
Leitrim 0-8

Played at Markievicz Park on Saturday afternoon, the home side could have won by more only for registering a total of 14 wides over the hour.

Leitrim trailed by two at the break - 0-6 to 0-4. The opening half was end to end stuff but Sligo held the upperhand.

After the resumption, the Yeats men upped the gears and took the game by the scruff of the neck with midfield pair David Maye and James Clarke dominating the middle sector.

Aaron Hickey and Shane Moran who were best for Leitrim, kept their scoreboard ticking away but points from Murphy and early substitute Joe Rogers gave Sligo a comfortable six point win.

The Yeats County who are yet to claim a Connacht U21 title will meet Roscommon in the final on Saturday 7th of April.

Sligo - V Cadden; James Kelly, D Carabine, Johnny Kelly; C Moloney, M O'Hehir, L O'Connell; D Maye (0-3, 1f), J Clarke; D Coffey (0-1), P Hughes, Ciaran Brennan; E Kivlehan, N Murphy (0-7, 3f), B Egan. Subs: J Rogers (0-2) for E Kivlehan, Cathal Brennan for D Coffey, E Doherty (0-1) for B Egan.

Leitrim - K Torsney; S Ryan, J O' Brien, M Mc Weeney; D Kane, S Mc Weeney, M Murphy; A Hickey (0-5, 4f), C Guckian; D Flynn, S Moran (0-1), M Mc Gourty; E Sweeney, J Mulligan, C Gilheany. Subs: T Cornyn for Ryan, M Beirne (0-1) for C Guckian, S Quinn for M Mc Gourty, M Quinn (0-1) for C Gilheany.

Referee - S O' Hehir (Galway)

For more information on the Cadbury GAA Championship go to the official Facebook page or follow it Twitter.

Most Read Stories