Connacht club SFC: Corofin mow down Mohill

October 25, 2015

Corofin's Michael Lundy

Corofin (Galway) 1-17
Mohill (Leitrim) 0-7

Corofin opened the defence of their provincial and All-Ireland titles with a facile victory over Mohill at Tuam Stadium.

While Mohill fared a good deal better against Stephen Rochford's men than Aughawillan did 12 months ago - the 2014 Letrim champions were hammered by 35 points - the result was never in doubt with Corofin superior in every facet of the game.

With Michael Lundy and Ian Burke posting 0-4 and 0-3 respectively and Ronan Steede lording the midfield exchanges, the all-conquering Galway outfit led by 0-10 to 0-2 at the interval. 

And it was all over bar the shouting when Burke and Lundy combined to set up Michael Farragher for the game's only goal six minutes into the second half.

Mohill top-scorer Ronan Kennedy got a point back, but it continued to be one-way traffic as four unanswered points from Jason Leonard (two), Steede and Shane Monaghan put the locals out of sight.

Corofin - T Healy; P Kelly, K Fitzgerald, C Silke; C McGrath, A Burke, L Silke; C Cunningham (0-1), R Steede (0-1); M Lundy (0-4), Michael Farragher (1-2), J Leonard (0-4f); Martin Farragher, S Monaghan (0-2), I Burke (0-3). Subs: C Daly for A Burke, P Madden for Martin Farragher, J Canney for L Silke, J Burke for S Monaghan.

Mohill - D Scollan; J Mitchell, A Armstrong, C Kennedy; O Madden, R Gallagher, M McGuinness; D Flynn (0-1), D McLoughlin; D Gordon, P Tighe, S Quinn; A McLoughlin, R Kennedy (0-3), K Beirne (0-3f). Subs: K Keegan for J Mitchell, R Gordon for P Tighe, A Tuthill for D Gordon, N Conboy for C Kennedy.

Referee - P Neilan.

Most Read Stories