Dublin SFC final: Vins survive late Plunkett's comeback

October 27, 2014

St Vincent's Tomas Quinn with David Kelly and Shane Lyons of St Oliver Plunkett's during the Dublin SFC final.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

St Vincent's retained their Dublin SFC crown with a 0-14 to 1-10 win over a resilient St Oliver Plunkett's side tonight at a packed Parnell Park. 

The Marino men looked to be on their way to a comfortable victory when Ruairi Trainor pointed a quick-fire brace to put them six-points ahead with 10 minutes remaining but the Navan Road outfit hit 1-2 without reply - the goal coming from Alan Brogan - to set up a grandstand finish at a packed Parnell Park.

However, Plunkett's search for a first senior triumph continues as St Vincent's hung on to claim their 27th title. 

The start was delayed by 10 minutes due to crowd congestion at Parnell Park, where over 10,000 were in attendance, and it was Plunkett's that got out of the blocks quickest, opening up a 0-3 to 0-0 thanks to Bernard Brogan (2, 1f) and Gareth 'Nesty' Smith.

St Vincent's hit back with three consecutive points of their own through Eamon Fennell, Diarmuid Connolly and Ciaran Dorney to leave it level on 15 minutes.

Both sides traded scores after that but it was Vincent's that reeled off three more unanwered points courtesy of Dorney, Mossy Quinn and Gavin Burke to give themselves a 0-7 to 0-5 lead at the break.

On the restart, a Bernard Brogan free narrowed the gap to the minimum but the All-Ireland champions soon enjoyed a spell of dominance. Shane Carthy (2), Dorney, Cameron Diamond and Burke all found the range to leave the scoreline reading 0-12 to 0-7 in favour of St Vincent's at the end of the third quarter.

Brogan's goal would make the would-be winners sweat late on but a brace of points from Shane Carty at the other end proved just enough for the All-Ireland club champions.

In the SFC B final, three second half goals fired St Maur's to a 3-10 to 1-5 win over Round Towers.

St Vincent's - M Savage; K Bonnie, J Curley, H Gill; B Egan, G Brennan, M Concarr; E Fennell (0-1), D Murphy; G Burke (0-3), D Connolly (0-1), S Carthy (0-2); R Trainor (0-2), C Dorney (0-3), T Quinn (0-1f). Subs: Cameron Diamond (0-1) for D Murphy, T Diamond for C Dorney, M Loftus for E Fennell, Cormac Diamond for S Carthy.

St Oliver Plunkett's - A O'Mara; D Kelly, R O'Connor, E Clarke; J Brogan, D Lally, C Walsh; P Brogan, C Dunleavy; S Lyons, D Brogan, A Brogan (1-1); N Walsh, B Brogan (0-5, 3f), G Smith (0-3, 1'45). Subs: R McConnell for P Brogan, P Brogan for D Brogan, P Lee (0-1) for S Lyons, P McNulty for C Dunleavy, D Matthews for N Walsh.

Referee - D Feeney.

Most Read Stories