Dublin SHC: Lucan and 'Boden to contest final

October 25, 2013

Lucan Sarsfields and Dublin star Johnny McCaffrey.
Lucan Sarsfields and Ballyboden St Enda's will go head-to-head in this years Dublin SHC final following their respective semi-final wins over Craobh Chiaráin and St Brigid's at Parnell Park on Thursday evening.

Inspired by county stars Peter Kelly and Johnny McCaffrey, Lucan made history by reaching their first SHC decider after a 1-13 to 1-9 win over 14-men Craobh Chiaráin.

A strong first half performance left Lucan in command at the break - 1-8 to 0-5. Paddy Ward with their goal on six minutes while Alan McCrabbe was on target for Craobh Chiaráin.

Craobh Chiaráin narrowed the gap to two following a superb Robbie Mahon point. However, the dismissal of full back Eugene Farrell swung the game in Lucan's favour once again.

Ballyboden St Enda's remain on course for their sixth SHC title in seven seasons as they cruised past St Brigid's - 2-17 to 1-9.

St Brigid's made a brilliant start when John O'Loughlin raised the green flag on four minutes. But 'Boden responded quickly with goals of their own from the impressive Shane Durkin and Maurice Nagle - giving them a 2-6 to 1-5 interval lead.

Paul Winters and Ruairi Dunbar found the range for Brigid's in the second half as they cut the deficit to three. However, 'Boden turned up the gears in the final quarter to outscore their opponents 0-8 to 0-1.

The final will take place on Sunday, November 10th at Parnell Park. A time has yet to be confirmed.

Lucan Sarsfields - D Quinn; J Bellew, P Kelly, M McCaffrey; S McClelland, R Lambert, B Aird; J Byrne, J McCaffrey (0-1); T Lee, C Crummey (0-2), T Somers (0-3f); A Roche (0-4), K Fitzgerald, P Ward (1-0). Subs: K O'Reilly (0-3, 2f) for Ward, M May for Byrne, C Dooley for Somers.

Craobh Chiaráin - S Chester; S Ennis, E Farrell, Damian O'Reilly; D Kelly, Derek O'Reilly, S McDonald; P O'Boyle, R Mahon (1-2); M McGuirk (0-1), F Usanga, K Elliott (0-1); G Kelly, C McGowran, A McCrabbe (0-5, 3f). Subs: S Kirwan for Damian O'Reilly, G Ennis for McGuirk, K Hetherton for McDonald, J Ryan for Ennis.

Referee - G McGrath.


Ballyboden St Enda's - G Maguire; S O'Connor (0-1), D Curran, M Travers; T Sweeney, S Hiney (0-1), C Robinson; P Buckeridge, S Durkin (1-1); C Keaney (0-3), D Curtin, C McCormack; N McMorrow (0-2), M Nagle (1-0), P Ryan (0-7, 5f). Subs: D Sweeney for Robinson, G Corrigan (0-2) for Buckeridge, F McGarry for D Curtin, E Carroll for O'Connor, N Maguire for Durkin.

St Brigid's - A Nolan (0-1f); C Doyle, S Brady, A McEnerney; B McEnerney, J Smyth, C Ryan; P McAvinue (0-2), K Kellett; P Rohan (0-1), P Winters (0-3, 2f), R Dunbar (0-1); D Plunkett, J O'Loughlin (1-0), D Doyle (0-1). Subs: C Lynch for Doyle, C Woodgate for Brady, D Smyth for Dunbar, S Callinan for Kellett.

Referee - P Behan.

Most Read Stories