Ulster club SFC: Slaughtneil one step away from double

November 13, 2016

Slaughtneil players celebrate after beating Killyclogher.
©INPHO/Presseye/Matt Mackey.

Slaughtneil (Derry) 1-11

Killyclogher (Tyrone) 0-08

Slaughtneil are just 60 minutes away from an Ulster club football and hurling double after overcoming Killyclogher at the Athletic Grounds.

The Derry champions will seek to add the provincial football title to their hurling crown when they face five-in-a-row Down champions Kilcoo in an intriguing final on November 27. Leading by 0-4 to 0-6 at half-time, they never looked back after Meehaul McGrath scored the game's only goal in the 33rd minute.

Mark Bradley and Shane McGuigan traded early points before a Bradley free gave the Tyrone champions a 0-3 to 0-2 lead at the end of the first quarter. But three Paul Bradley frees had the Emmet's in the driving seat the break.

They tightened their grip on proceedings when McGrath rattled the net after Se McGuigan had created the opening just after the resumption. Thereafter, the result was never in doubt as points from Padraig Cassidy and Christopher Bradley extended the 2014 champions' lead to seven by the 36th minute.

A pair of Mark Bradley frees and a Tiernan Cox point gave Killyclogher hope before late scores from Se McGuigan and Ronan Bradley underlined Slaughtneil's superiority.

Slaughtneil - A McMullan; F McEldowney, B Rogers, K McKaigue; P McNeill, C McKaigue, K Feeney; Patsy Bradley, P Cassidy (0-1); Shane McGuigan (0-1f), Paul Bradley (0-5f), M McGrath (1-0); C Bradley (0-2), Se McGuigan (0-1), C O'Doherty. Subs: R Bradley (0-1) for C O'Doherty, P Kelly for M McGrath.

Killyclogher - S Fox; M Swift (0-1), D Gorman, G Sludden; T McCann, E Bradley, G Wallace; C McCann (0-1), F Meenagh; A Kelly, T Flanagan, N Donnelly; E McFadden, M Bradley (0-4, 3f), S O'Neill (0-1f). Subs: J Carlin for T Flanagan, T Cox (0-1) for N Donnelly, D Leonard for S O'Neill, M Meenagh for F Meenagh.

Referee - C Branagan.

Most Read Stories