Munster club SHC final replay: Historic first for Na Piarsaigh

December 04, 2011

Na Piarsaigh's Kevin Downes heads for goal with Cronan Dillon of Crusheen left in his wake ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy
Na Piarsaigh are the Munster club SHC champions following a 1-13 to 0-9 comeback win over Crusheen.

It was an historic win for a club only established in 1968 and they thoroughly deserved their victory, although Crusheen played their part in an absorbing contest.

The sides played out an exciting draw last weekend and many felt that this game should not have clashed with the Munster club senior football championship final, but fixed it was and it was an outstanding contest.

It took seven and a half minutes for the first score of the game to arrive and it came from the hurl of Kevin Downes, but Tony Meaney replied for Crusheen. Na Piarsaigh then had three yellow cards handed out to their players and one of these, Downes, hit the next score to put his side in the lead again.

Kevin Ryan hit the next point for the Limerick champions but two from Jamie Fitzgerald and one from David Forde helped Crusheen into a 0-5 to 0-4 lead at half time.

The second half saw David Breen open the scoring as the Limerick star got Na Piarsaigh back on level terms, but Crusheen took over for the next few minutes as Jamie Fitzgibbon and Pat Vaughan both scored a brace of points, before substitute Adrian Breen pointed for the Shannonsiders to make it 0-9 to 0-7 after 46 minutes.

Shane Dowling then hit two frees to restore parity and it was the Limerick side that kicked on from here.

David and Adrian Breen scored points as Na Piarsaigh hit 1-4 to run out winners and become Munster club senior hurling champions for the first time ever.

Na Piarsaigh: P Kennedy; D Lynch, K Breen, K Birmingham; A Dempsey, J O'Brien, B Hartnett (0-1); C King (0-1), P Gleeson; S Dowling (0-2, frees), D Breen (0-1), K Ryan (0-1); S O'Neill (0-1), K Downes (0-2), K Kennedy (0-1). Subs: A Breen (1-3) for Gleeson (28 mins), A Hennessy for Bermingham (40), J Madden for O'Neill (48).

Crusheen: D Touhy; J Brigdale, Cronan Dillon, A Brigdale; C O'Doherty, Cian Dillon, Cathal Dillon; P Vaughan (0-3, 0-2 frees), T Meaney (0-1); G O'Donnell, J Fitzgibbon (0-4), D Forde (0-1); P Meaney, G O'Grady, F Kennedy. Subs: C O'Donnell for Forde (45 mins), J Meaney for T Meaney (51 mins).

Ref: C McAllister (Cork)

Most Read Stories