Shortlist announced for Camogie Player of the Year 2016

October 11, 2016

The Cork and Kilkenny players shake hands before the All-Ireland senior camogie final at Croke Park.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

The shortlists for the second Camogie Association/WGPA Players' Player of the Year Awards, sponsored by Liberty Insurance have been announced across the three award categories.

The Players' Player of the Year Awards honour the outstanding achievement of an individual player in the Senior, Intermediate and Premier Junior Championships.

This year's nominees are as follows:

Senior Player of the Year Shortlist:

Orla Cotter (Cork), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Kate Kelly (Wexford)

Intermediate Player of the Year Shortlist:

Linda Collins (Cork), Jenny Clifford (Kilkenny), Ciara Holden (Kilkenny),

Junior Player of the Year Shortlist:

Ciara Donnelly (Armagh), Eleanor Treacy (Carlow), Ciara Quirke (Carlow)

Players who are members of an intercounty panel, participating in this year's Championship will now be invited to vote on their Player of the Year based on the final shortlists. Players are requested to submit their vote online or by e-mail to the WGPA before Monday October 24th at 5pm, with the overall recipients announced on the night of the Camogie All-Stars Awards on November 5th.

"The Players' Player of the Year Awards recognise and acknowledge the achievements of a player across each of the adult grades and is a testament of the esteem these players are held in by their peers," said Camogie Association President Catherine Neary.

"This award is a very prestigious award for a player and it is a huge honour to be chosen by their peers. We are delighted to collaborate with both the WGPA and Liberty Insurance on this joint initiative which recognises on a national scale the immense contribution of our leading players."

The 13th annual Camogie All-Stars Awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance will take place at Citywest Hotel on Saturday November 5th. Tickets are priced at €75 per head. To book contact the Camogie Office on 01 865 8651 or e-mail [email protected]

Most Read Stories