First title for Rathdowney-Errill

October 16, 2006
A goal from substitute Alan Delaney three minutes from the end proved decisive as Rathdowney-Errill overcame Tinnahinch to claim their first Laois SHC title at O'Moore Park. Rathdowney-Errill….1-11 Tinnahinch………….1-7 It was a historic day for the Rathdowney-Errill club, which has only been in existence for two years. Rathdowney last won a senior hurling title in 1941, while Errill won the last of their two senior titles in 1952. Tinnahinch were also seeking their first title and a goal by Tommy Tynan gave them the lead three minutes after the restart. However, the sides were on level terms before Rathdowney struck the winning goal. A long delivery in by man of the match Joe Fitzpatrick broke kindly for Alan Delaney - who is the son of former inter-county referee Pat - who instinctively crashed the ball to the back of the net. With time almost up, another substitute Jason Phelan added the insurance point.

Most Read Stories