Two changes to Cork under 21 team

August 08, 2006
Senior panelist Shane O'Neill and James Bowles have been drafted into the Cork team for Wednesday evening's Munster under 21 hurling final against Tipperary at Semple Stadium. O'Neill replaces Aidan Ryan at centre back, while Bowles takes over from Kevin Canty in attack. Bowles is named at full forward with Patrick Cronin switching to left half forward. Cork selector Kevin Hennessy is hopeful that the Rebels can retain their provincial crown. "We have a clean bill of health which is great and the availability of Shane O'Neill is a huge boost to the team. We are going to Thurles full of confidence we can put back-to-back titles together, but know full well it will take a huge effort to beat Tipp on their home patch," he said. "The performance of Cathal Naughton when he came on with the seniors last Sunday is also a massive boost for the team, but he'll be a marked man now and that brings its own problems." Cork (U21H v Tipperary): K O'Halloran; C Murphy, E Dillon, E O'Sullivan; S Cronin, S O'Neill, E Cadogan; C Naughton, M Harrington; R Conway, P O'Brien, P Cronin; B Barry, J Bowles, M O'Sullivan.

Most Read Stories