Fr O'Neill capture first Munster crown

December 05, 2005
Fr O'Neill's……...1-12 Knockshegowna….0-7 Fr O'Neill's of Cork were crowned Munster junior hurling club champions for the first time on Sunday, December 4, following an eight-point victory over their Tipperary counterparts Knockshegowna at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. The East Cork side laid the foundations for victory in the early stages with Eoin Conway's superb goal in the 12th minute putting them on their way. Ger O'Leary, Conway and Kieran Wall followed up with points to ease Fr O'Neill's into a 1-8 to 0-4 lead at the break. Knockshegowna, who lost the Tipperary junior final to Drom/Inch, were given hope when Declan Costelloe pointed just after the restart, but their Ballymacoda opponents never lost their grip on proceedings and pulled away for a comfortable victory.

Most Read Stories