Dublin claim camogie crown

October 10, 2005
Dublin are the newly crowned Junior All-Ireland champions following their All-Ireland replay victory of 2-9 to 1-4 against Clare in Birr. Not since 1975 have Dublin won a junior All-Ireland title and there was no prouder person than captain Eimear Brannigan who accepted the New Ireland cup from Uachtarán Miriam O'Callaghan.    The opening half belonged to the Banner who like Dublin were chasing their fourth All-Ireland title and backed by a strong first half wind were 1-1 to no score for Dublin. Both sides showed a lot of first half nerves but when veteran full-forward Catherine O'Loughlin handpassed  their only goal of the match to the net with six minutes to go it gave the Banner girls some hope having scored the opening point a free two minutes earlier from Claire Mc Mahon.   Clare introduced Marie O'Halloran for centre forward Áine O'Brien at the break but despite this it was the hungrier Dubs who got the dream second half start with a second minute point from player of the match, Dublin's Ciara Lucey. That gave the Dubs their opening point but three minutes later Claire Mc Mahon pointed  for the Banner.   Both sides exchanged further scores before corner forward Emer Lucey got Dublin's opening goal with eleven minutes gone to leave the Dubs only trailing by a point, 1-2 to Clare's 1-3. However, straight away second half Clare substitute Marie O'Halloran sent over a point for the Banner, but that became the Banner's final score.   Instead it was Dublin who stepped into the high gears with a second goal with ten minutes remaining. It came from midfielder Áine Fanning who found the waiting full-forward Louise O'Hara who crashed the ball past Clare 'keeper Rachel Lynch.  That gave Dublin a lead of 2-3 to 1-4 and they never looked back after that with both Louise O'Hara and Ciara Lucey both sending over 0-2 each while Eve Talbot also got her name on the score board.   Watched by a large crowd, it was a memorable for eight times All-Ireland goal keeper, the legendary Eileen Duffy O'Mahony of Dublin who almost played every ball of the game with the Dubs such was her delight to see the young Dubs in an All-Ireland final. The scenes at the end where Dublin manager Peter Lucey jumped for joy will only spell for Dublin in the years to come.           Dublin: E Butler; S Hanks, A Mc Cluskey, A Cullen; A Fitzpatrick, S Cunnane, C Power; C Lucey, Á Fanning; N Taylor, E Brannigan,(cpt) C Durkan; E Talbot, L O'Hara, E Lucey. Subs:A Griffin for E Lucey, 54mins. Scorers: 2-9: L O'Hara 1-1, E Lucey 1-0,  C Lucey 0-4 (0-2f, 0-1 '45), N Taylor 0-2 (0-1f), E Talbot, E Brannigan 0-1 each.   Clare: R Lynch; J Scanlan, D Corcoran, C Mc Mahon; E Keating, C Halley, E Minogue; M Mc Mahon, D Murphy; (cpt) L Linnane, Á O'Brien, F Lafferty; C Mc Mahon, C O'Loughlin, C Commane.   Subs:  M O'Halloran for Á O'Brien half time, S Lafferty for F Lafferty 47mins. Scorers: C O'Loughlin 1-0, C Mc Mahon 0-2 (0-1F), C ommane, M O'Halloran 0-1 each.   Referee: Úna Kearney, Armagh.

Most Read Stories