All-Ireland Club IFC final: Oughterard too strong for 13-man Magheracloone

January 25, 2020

Oughterard's Eddie O'Sullivan and Ronan Molloy lift the All-Ireland club IFC trophy. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Oughterard were crowned All-Ireland Club Intermediate football champions at Croke Park this evening.

The Galway champions enjoyed a 2-16 to 0-12 final success over Monaghan’s Magheracloone at GAA HQ.

Eric Lee and substitute Conrad Clancy netted the goals while Niall Lee and Enda Tierney contributed 0-4 and 0-3 respectively to their team’s final tally.

Lee’s goal arrived in the first-half and helped establish a 1-10 to 0-7 interval lead for the eventual winners.

Magheracloone’s chances of clawing their way back into contention suffered a set-back when they lost the services of defender Michael Jones to a second yellow card in the 47th minute.

They found themselves down to 13 men six minutes later when Ryan Farrelly was shown a black card to go along with a yellow one he had picked up earlier.

With former Farney County star Tommy Freeman very much to the fore, the Ulster representatives battled bravely but Clancy’s goal applied the gloss to Oughterard's victory.

Oughterard - J Waller; E O’Sullivan, C Hanley, L Moran; R Monaghan (0-2), C Monaghan (0-2), R Molloy; E Tierney (0-3, 2f), PJ McGauley; Paul Walsh, M Tierney (0-1f), B Lambert; E Lee (1-0), Patrick Walsh (0-2), N Lee (0-4, 2f). Subs: C Harte for R Molloy, D Kenny for B Lambert, C Clancy (1-1) for PJ McGauley, D Gibbons for R Monaghan, P Gibbons for Patrick Walsh, I Gibbons (0-1f) for N Lee.

Magheracloone - D Kirk; J Doogan (0-1), P Ward, P McArdle; M Jones, J Ward (0-1), K Rudden; J Kieran, G Doogan (0-2); B Kieran, A Kieran, P McMahon (0-1); T Freeman (0-5, 3f), M Metzger (0-1), R Farrelly (0-1). Subs: C McKeown for K Rudden, L Og Murray for M Metzger, A McCahey for J Doogan, P Tuite for B Kieran, N Marron for A Kieran.

Referee - S Laverty.

Most Read Stories