Galway SHC draw: holders St Thomas to face Mellows and Portumna

February 12, 2019

Liam Mellows' Cathal Reilly and Eanna Burke of St. Thomas during the Galway SHC final at Pearse Stadium

The draws for the Galway senior and intermediate hurling championship took place last night at the Salthill Hotel, throwing up some intriguing clashes out west this summer.

Following their thrilling win over Antrim's Cushendall at the weekend, All-Ireland glory chasers St Thomas have been drawn into Group 1 alongside 2018 finalists Liam Mellows (champions in 2017) and nine-time winners Portumna.

Turloughmore, Tommy Larkins and 17-time champions Castlegar are also in Group 1.

In Group 2, 2015 champions Sarsfields are up against the previous year’s winners in Gort, with Kilnadeema/Leitrim, Loughrea, Tynagh Abbey-Duniry and Cappataggle also included.

Senior A Hurling Championship draw:

Group 1: Portumna, Turloughmore, Liam Mellows, St Thomas, Tommy Larkins, Castlegar

Group 2: Kilnadeema/Leitrim, Gort, Loughrea, Tynagh Abbey-Duniry, Cappataggle, Sarsfields.

Senior B Hurling Championship draw:

Group 1: Craughwell, Oranmore-Maree, Ahascragh-Fohenagh, Padraig Pearses, Athenry, Beagh

Group 2: Ballindereen, Killimordaly, Abbeyknockmoy, Ardrahan, Mullagh, Clarinbridge

Intermediate Hurling Championship draw:

Group 1: Turloughmore, Moycullen, Kilconieron, Kilbeacanty, Kinvara, Sylane, Carnmore.

Group 2: Annaghdown, Meelick Eyrecourt, An Spideal, Killimor, Rahoon/Newcastle, Castlegar, Kiltormer

Most Read Stories