Ulster club JFC final: Red Hugh's strong finish denies 14-man Limavady

November 17, 2018

Red Hughs and Donegal star Stephen McMenamin. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Red Hugh's (Donegal) 1-11

Limavady Wolfhounds (Derry) 1-9

Red Hugh's have been crowned Ulster club junior football champions after coming from behind to beat Limavady in a thrilling final at Celtic Park tonight.

When Cormac Quigley netted in the 41st minute, Limavady led by 1-7 to 0-6, but the dismissal of their centre forward Richard King moments later proved a major turning point as the Donegal men made the most of their numerical advantage to roar back for the win. Substitute Johnny Carlin scored 1-2, with his goal in injury-time completing the comeback.

Three unanswered points from Richard King, Oisin Hasson and Ruairi O'Kane helped 2003 finalists Wolfhounds to a slender 0-7 to 0-6 interval lead and they tightened their grip on proceedings when Quigley's rising shot flew into the Red Hugh's net 11 minutes after the restart.

But Red Hugh's rolled up their sleeves and were level by the 49th minute thanks to points from Carlin, Calvin Bradley and Damien Browne.

Half of the eight minutes of stoppage-time allotted by referee Conor Dourneen were elapsed when Carlin's major propelled the Donegal champions into a 1-11 to 1-7 lead.

Shenagh McLaughlin and Eugene O'Kane got points back for Limavady, but Red Hugh's held on to set up an All-Ireland semi-final meeting with Connacht kingpins Easkey early in the New Year.

Red Hugh's - C Kelly; C Doherty, E Browne, S McGlinchey; P McGlinchey (0-1), S McMenamin, R Kelly (0-1); T McMenamin, D Browne (0-3, 2f); P McMenamin (0-1), G Melaugh, O Doherty; S Gallagher, J Carlin (1-2), C Bradley (0-3). Subs: J Carlin for S Gallagher, C Melaugh for J Carlin.

Limavady Wolfhounds - O Hartin; J McLaughlin, M Quigley, H McLaughlin; K McGlinchey, C Boyd, A McGregor; S McLaughlin (0-1), C Brown; E O'Kane (0-2, 1f), R King (0-1f), R O'Kane (0-2); O Hasson (0-2), C Quigley (1-1), R Hasson. Subs: B O'Brien for O Hasson, C Forrest for R O'Kane, J Deery for K McGlinchey, E Rogers for R Hasson.

Referee - C Dourneen.

Most Read Stories