Ulster Club Hurling round-up: Naomh Gall and Castleblayney secure silverware

November 11, 2018

St Galls players celebrate with the Ulster club IHC trophy. Pic via Naomh Gall CLG on Facebook.

Naomh Gall and Castleblayney are both celebrating Ulster Club hurling success this evening.

Naomh Gall emulated Cushendall’s senior success when getting the better of Keady (Armagh) by 2-12 to 0-11 in the intermediate decider at Pairc Esler.

Goals in either half from Conor McGourty and Sean McAreavey sowed the seeds for their seven point win.

The winners led by 1-5 to 0-5 at the halfway stage.

Cushendun, meanwhile, narrowly missed out on making it a clean sweep for the Saffrons as they were beaten 0-16 to 1-14 by Castleblayney in the curtain-raiser to the senior final at the Athletic Grounds.

A converted free by Fergal Rafter in stoppage time proved to be the difference between the sides at the final whistle.

Naomh Gall - K McGreevy; S Morrison, J McDaniel, A Hannaway; N O'Neill, A Gallagher, S Burke; J Hopkins, K Stewart (0-1); C McGourty (1-5, 0-4f), K McGourty (0-1), J McGreevy (0-1); T O Ciarain (0-3f), C Burke, M Napier (0-1). Subs: P McCaffrey for K McGreevy, S McAreavey (1-0) for M Napier, A Healy for J Hopkins, M Donnelly for S Burke.

Keady - J Burke; L McKee, N Green, B Breen; O Keenan, J King (0-1), E McDonnell; D McKenna, S Renaghan (0-1); P McCormack, C Corvan (0-6, 1f, 1'65), J Harvey; P Breen (0-1), P Green (0-2), J Corvan. Subs: J Shortt for D McKenna, M McDermott for E McDonnell, O Fullerton for J Harvey.

Referee - B Winters.


Castleblayney - P Collins; C Merrick, E Leonard, C McNally; B Connor, P Treanor, J McHugh; B Flanagan, P Finnegan; H Byrne, F Rafter (0-11f), F Finnegan (0-1); C Callan, B McGuigan, M Treanor (1-2). Sub: A Kenny for C Callan.

Cushendun - E Magee; S Hamilton, A Corbett, J McKay; M Scally, D O'Hara, T Scally; M McCartin, C McHugh (0-4, 2f, 2'65); P Bannon (0-1), E Duffin (0-1), D McQuillan (0-2); J Morgan (0-2), C McNeill (0-4f), D Kilgore (0-2). Subs: E McQuillan for E Duffin, N McAuley for P Bannon, R J McQuillan for J Morgan.

Referee - T Conway.

Most Read Stories