There will be a new-look Munster MFC next year

September 14, 2018

The Kerry players celebrate with the Munster MFC trophy.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

A new format for the Munster MFC was voted in last night.

Delegates at the Munster Council meeting approved a proposal that will see Waterford, Limerick, Clare and Tipperary play each other in a round-robin series, with the top two playing off to decide who joins Kerry and Cork in a separate round-robin series. The top two from this group will contest the Munster final.

The new format is heavily stacked in Kerry and Cork's favour as it means Waterford, Limerick, Clare and Tipperary would have to play six games just to reach the provincial decider.

Most Read Stories