Ulster U20FC final: Cassidy double sinks Armagh

June 24, 2018

Armagh's Barry McCambridge and Declan Loye with Callum Brown of Derry.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Derry 2-15

Armagh 0-14

Derry are the inaugural Ulster U20 football champions after two late Brian Cassidy goals helped them to victory over Armagh in Clones.

The super-sub entered the fray in the 38th minute and helped himself to 2-2 as the Oak Leafers became the first holders of the newly-presented Danny Murphy Cup. Armagh, who were boosted by the availability of eight of the 10 players who were suspended in the wake of their controversial semi-final victory over Tyrone, opened brightly with points from Ross McQuillan, Rian O'Neill and centre back Conor O'Neill, but Derry gradually found their feet as Declan Cassidy gave them the lead for the first time on 15 minutes before Ben McCarron put them two up.

Further efforts from Cassidy and McCarron pushed them three clear before Peter McDonnell's men scored the last point of the half to trail by 0-6 to 0-8 at the interval.

Derry captain Conor Doherty lifts the trophy. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

The winners continued to hold onto a two-point lead before Brian Cassidy marked his arrival with the first goal after latching onto a sublime Lorcan McWilliams pass.

Cassidy tagged on two more points before being set up by Callum Brown for his second major five minutes from time.

The excellent Decan Cassidy completed the scoring with his fifth point from play as Derry - backboned by last year's All-Ireland minor final team - progressed to an All-Ireland semi-final against Mayo on the weekend of July 14/15.

Derry - O Hartin; S McKeever, D Rafferty, C McShane; E Concannon, C McCluskey, P McGrogan; C Brown, O McWilliams (0-1); C Doherty, S Downey, B McCarron (0-2); M McGrogan, L McWilliams (0-5, 4f), D Cassidy (0-5). Subs: B Cassidy (2-2) for M McGrogan, M Bradley for B McCarron (BC), J McAtamney for L McWilliams, H McGurk for D Cassidy.

Armagh - C Duffin; J McAlinden, B McCambridge, D Loye; C McGeary, C O'Neill (0-2, 1f), S McCarthy; J Duffy (0-2), C O'Neill; R Magennis, R McQuillan (0-6), M Carr; C Turbitt, J Murphy, R O'Neill (0-4, 3f). Subs: J Kieran for J Murphy, N Magennis for R Magennis, K McAlinden for C Turbitt, D Luckie for J McAlinden.

Referee - S Laverty.

Most Read Stories