Munster U21HC: Tipp topple Treaty men for final berth

June 21, 2018

Limerick's Mike Mackey and Colin English of Tipperary during the Munster U21HC semi-final at Semple Stadium ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Tipperary 1-22
Limerick 1-13

Tipperary are through to the Munster U21 hurling championship final after comfortably dispatching Limerick at Semple Stadium this evening.

Played before 3,460 spectators at the Thurles venue, the home side simply never looked back after taking in a 0-13 to 0-5 lead at the break, as David Gleeson's goal 10 minutes into the restart all but confirmed their final slot alongside Cork on July 4th.

Tipp were 0-4 to nothing in front before Brian Ryan got the Treaty men off the mark and they'd bump their lead up to six via Colin English and Mark Kehoe, who finished with 0-5, and their lead would stand at eight at the halfway stage after Barry Murphy smashed his penalty off hosts' crossbar.

Paddy O'Loughlin (2) and Murphy narrowed the deficit for the visitors early in the restart but all of their good work would be undone once Gleeson snuck in and the Tipp corner-forward ensured maximum with a splendid finish past Jamie Power.

It got worse before it got better for the holders as senior star Kyle Hayes picked up a second yellow card late on ahead of substitute Kevin Howard firing in a consolation goal at the finish.

Tipperary - C Barrett; P Campion, B McGrath (0-3f), K O'Dwyer; C Flanagan, P Cadell, D Quirke; G Browne (0-2), C English (0-3); J Cahill (0-1), P Feehan, J Morris (0-3); D Gleeson (1-0), M Kehoe (0-5), L Fairbrother (0-3f). Subs: C Darcy (0-1) for L Fairbrother, C Morgan for D Quirke, D Woods (0-1) for D Gleeson, C Stakelum for J Cahill, M Purcell for C Flanagan.

Limerick - J Power; B Timmons, J Adams, J Flynn; W O'Meara (0-1), K Hayes, T Grimes; P O'Loughlin (0-2, 1f), M Mackey; B Ryan (0-1), M O'Dwyer, C Boylan (0-1); P Casey (0-1f), S Flanagan, B Murphy (0-4, 3f). Subs: D O'Connell for M O'Dwyer, O O'Reilly (0-1) for S Flanagan, M Houlihan (0-2f) for B Ryan, K Howard (1-0) for M Mackey, B O'Grady for B Murphy.

Referee - R McGann.

Most Read Stories