Slaughtneil to start Derry SFC title defence against Magherafelt

May 16, 2018

Slaughtneil and Ballinascreen players parade before the 2017 Derry SFC final.
©INPHO/Lorcan Doherty.

Slaughtneil will start their Derry SFC title defence against Magherafelt after the draw for the opening round of the competition was made last night.

Now under the guidance of Terence McWilliams who took over from Mickey Moran in the wake of the Ulster champions' All-Ireland semi-final extra-time defeat to Nemo Rangers, the Robert Emmets club are chasing a fifth straight John McLaughlin Cup success in 2018.

Last year's beaten finalists Ballinascreen have been paired with Bellaghy while Lavey and Dungiven is another stand-out fixture.

The opening round of games will not be played until the second week in September (7-9).

Meanwhile, the draw for the senior hurling championship will take place after the league is completed.

2018 Derry SFC

Magherafelt v Slaughtneil

Coleraine v Glenullin

Greenlough v Newbridge

Ballinascreen v Bellaghy

Lavey v Dungiven

Swatragh v Glen

Loup v Claudy

Kilrea v Ballinderry

Most Read Stories