Sad news as Waterford 'legend' Seamus Power passes away

June 25, 2016

Waterford All Ireland champions 1959. Front l-r: Paudie Casey, Tom Cheasty, Larry Guinan, Mick Flannelly, Frankie Walsh, John Kiely, Tom Cunningham, Seamus Power, Michael O'Connor, Charlie Ware, Donal Whelan. Back l-r: Freddie O'Brien, John Barron, Ned Power, Jackie Condon, Martin Og Morrissey, Joe Harney, Austin Flynn, Phil Grimes, Mick Lacey, Joe Coady.

A link to Waterford's All-Ireland winning team of 1959 has been broken with the sad passing of Seamus Power this morning.

The Waterford and Mount Sion 'legend' lined out at midfield in that year's 3-12 to 1-10 All-Ireland final replay victory over Kilkenny while he netted the all-important goal in the 1-17 to 5-5 drawn encounter.

He finished on the losing side in the Liam MacCarthy deciders of 1957 and '63 but also picked up three Munster SHC, six Railway Cup and NHL medals during his illustrious playing career.

On the club front, Seamus accumulated a remarkable sixteen senior championship medals - twelve for hurling and four for football.

After hanging up the hurl, he made a name for himself in coaching and acted as trainer, coach and selector to the Deise senior squad and Mount Sion teams.

He was also a noted referee and took charge of a National League final in New York in the sixties.

As an administrator, Seamus served as secretary of the Mount Sion club from 1955 to 1969 and subsequently took over as club chairman from Pat Fanning when he became GAA President.

He also became one of Waterford's representatives on both the Munster Council and the GAA Central Council.

Long after his playing days were over he was selected at centre-field, alongside Philly Grimes, on the Waterford Centenary Team 1984 and the Waterford Millennium Team 2000.

Most Read Stories