Lynskey to succeed Murphy

October 31, 2014

Galway minor hurling manager Mattie Murphy

Geoff Lynskey is set to replace Mattie Murphy as Galway minor hurling manager.

Murphy's long reign as minor boss ended after Galway's heavy All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Limerick in August. Murphy is recognised as one of the most successful minor managers of all time, having won the Irish Press Cup six times with the Westerners between 1992 and 2011.

Lynskey, who was involved with the Galway U17 development this year, is the preferred choice of the selection committee and his name will be go before the county board for ratification on Monday night. He will be appointed for a two-year term, with a review after the first year.

The Liam Mellows clubman's selectors will be Gavin Keary and Shane Cusack (both Loughrea), Eugene McEntee (Portumna) and John Commins (Gort).

Most Read Stories