JBM cuts four from panel

April 03, 2014

Stephen White of Cork ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan
Stephen White is one of four players who have been omitted from Cork's championship squad.

Hurling manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy has also dropped Killian Murphy, who was a regular at corner back during the Allianz League, Michael O'Sullivan and Colm Spillane as the Rebels focus in on next month's Munster SHC opener against Waterford. Both White and Murphy had made appearances off the bench in last year's All-Ireland final replay.

There are recalls for Bill Cooper of Youghal and Mallow's Cormac Murphy, who is still eligible for U21.

Cork's championship squad in full is:

Goalkeepers - Anthony Nash (Kanturk), Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)

Defenders - Shane O'Neill (Bishopstown), Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers), Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr's), Eoin Keane (St. Finbarr's), Killian Burke (Midleton), Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), William Egan (Kilbrin), Eoin Cadogan (Douglas), Mark Ellis (Millstreet), Cormac Murphy (Mallow), Conor O'Sullivan (Sarsfields), Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk).

Midfield/Forwards - Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields), Paul Haughney (Midleton) Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown), Aidan Walsh (Kanturk), Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr), Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita's), Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), Conor Lehane (Midleton), Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum), Rob O'Shea (Carrigaline), Brian Hartnett (Midleton), Alan Cadogan (Douglas), Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields), Bill Cooper (Youghal), Stephen Moylan (Douglas), Paudie O'Sullivan (Cloyne).

Most Read Stories