St Patricks club notes

March 27, 2017

Congratulations to our Club Hurlers on their win last Thursday evening against Eire Og, Corra Choill (Ke) in Division 3 Group 4 of the Leinster Adult Hurling League in Ballinakill. Final Score St Patrick's 4-15 Eire Og (Ke) 0-08. Scorers on the night: A hat-trick from Andy O'Brien with 3-05, Christy Moorehouse 1-02, Jim O'Brien 0-03, George O'Connor and John Dee O'Brien 0-02 each. 
Team: Eoghan O'Mahony, Thomas Kehoe, Gerry Connors, Andrew Conway, Eddie Kelly, John Connors, Michael Connors, George O'Brien, Shane Doyle, Rikki Quinn, James Bonner O'Brien, George O'Connor (0-2), Christy Moorehouse (1-02), Andy O'Brien (3-05), Jim O'Brien (0-3)
Subs: John Dee O'Brien (0-2), Niall Hanton, John Greengrass O'Brien
Up next in the quarter-final of the Division 3 Leinster AHL will be Piltown (KK) with the winner taking on Shanahoe (LS) on Saturday 8th April in the Semi-Final.

Congratulations to our Club Hurlers whose fine form in the Leinster Hurling League continued Saturday last when they dispatched Meath's Clann na Gael by 7-17 to 0-08. This puts Michael Neary's men through to the Division 4 quarter-final against Moorefield of Kildare at a venue in Wicklow. Date and time to be confirmed.
Team: Eoghan O'Mahony, George Boo O'Brien, John Connors, Thomas Kehoe, Niall Hanton, Andy O'Brien (1-01), Michael Connors, Rikki Quinn, Christy Moorehouse (1-00), John Dee O'Brien (0-02), Andrew Conway (0-01), John Greengrass O'Brien (0-01), George Bee O'Brien (2-04), Gerry Connors (2-04), James Jimser O'Brien (1-03)
Subs: James Bonnor O'Brien, George O'Connor (0-01) and Aaron Dickenson

Our Senior Footballers started their Division League 1 campaign with the trip across the Mountains on Sunday to take on their hosts Dunlavin. In the first half playing with a strong breeze St Pats went in at half-time ahead 7 to 5 after been reduced to 14. At the start of the second half Gary Duffy replaced Ritchie Murphy (Black Card). The lads ended up on the wrong side of the Full-Time score-line: Dunlavin 0-13 St Patricks 0-08
Team: Collie Byrne, Wayne Doyle, Ciaran Doyle, Lorcan Smullen, Simon Bouchier, Eamonn Wolfe, Chris Kavanagh, Jonathan Delahunt, Padge McWalter, Conor O'Brien, Paul O' Brien, Jordan Pettigrew, Chico Murphy, Jack Kelly and Shane Morley. 
Subs: Ian Murphy for Collie Byrne, Padraig Higgins for Jack Kelly and Gary Duffy for Chico Murphy (black card)
Scorers: Jordan Pettigrew 0-2, Johnny Delahunt 0-3, Padge McWalter, Paul O'Brien and Eamonn Wolfe 0-1 each.

The County Hurlers took on Meath in the NHL in Ratoath on Sunday in a preview of the League Final which takes place next week. The scoreline on the day was irrelevant with the hosts running out winners: Meath 3-23 Wicklow 1-16. 
Best of luck to all involved with Wicklow County Hurling in the League Final against Meath next week especially our own Eoghan O'Mahony, Gerry Connors, Andy O'Brien and George O'Brien and Michael Neary.

Commiserations to all involved with the County Football team on another disappointing home defeat with the final score Wicklow 0-11 to Carlow 1-18 especially our own Conor Ffrench, John Crowe, Dean Healy and Tommy Kelly.

Congratulations and well done to our County ladies team who proved victorious over an Antrim side to extend their unbeaten run in Division 4 of the Lidl NFL. Leading at half time 1-02 to 0-07 running out winners at full time: Antrim 2-03 Wicklow 2-14. Next up: Longford at 2pm in An Tochar next Sunday in a top of the table clash.
Well done to our own Niamh McGettigan, Clodagh Fox and Mick Kavanagh

It was a big weekend the U16 Wicklow Ladies squad who started their Leinster Championship campaign with a group match against Kilkenny in Carrigeen GAA almost on the Waterford border. The Wicklow girls performed well leading 7-12 to 0-01 at half time and went on to win with a final score: Wicklow 11-18 Kilkenny 1-02. Well done to the entire squad and mentors and especially our 9 Pat's players who are involved Sinead McGettigan, Sarah Evans, Ciara Fagan, Amy Kavanagh, Kellie Phelan, Jess Lyons, Lucy Dunne, Niamh Caffrey and Captain Zoe Armstrong.

History Makers:  The Ladies Gaelic Football Association had their first Lidl National Football League Division 1 Round 6 match played at Croke Park between Dublin and Mayo on Saturday, March 25th with a throw in at 5pm. The match preceded the GAA Allianz League match between Dublin and Roscommon, where Dublin created their own record. 
St Patrick's GAA are proud of our own history makers who officiated at the first Ladies National Football League Match to take place in Croke Park: Referee Stephen McNulty and his umpires Damien O'Brien, Dave Fitzgerald, Donal Marron and Henry Leonard

In aid of our juvenile boys and girls, Quiz Night Social Evening - bar open with your host Eddie, available to rustle up the cocktails or just serve a pint!!
Juvenile Fund raiser with St Patrick's GAA Quiz Night on Friday 31st March at 8-30pm sharp in the Clubhouse Dunbur with Quizmaster John Doyle.
Price €20 - team of four. If you don't have 4 we will put people together on the night?
Please support Your Club Your Teams!

Thank you to volunteers Marie O'Brien, Olivia Carey and Mick Murphy who have volunteered to assist with the Club Gear Shop at the club Nursery every Saturday in Dunbur.

Any Individuals interested in been involved with our club teams for 2017 should contact the Club Secretary at: [email protected].

Certificates were awarded last Thursday night to the girls and parents that took part in the successful program for Camogie "come hurl with me".
Camogie will continue Thursday nights at St. Pats National School pitch for U8 and U10 girls from the 6th of April. Time to be confirmed. This is for girls born in 2007/2008/2009/2010. Helmets and hurls will be available for those who are trying camogie for the first time. 
For further details and if you would like to get involved please contact: Margaret Leonard on 087 7827881 or Jason Carey on 086 8974898

It's times like this communities need to support one another. Please try and help Rathnew GAA Club who are hosting a 5K Family Fun Run in aid of the Martin Family Fund on April 14th (Good Friday) at 7pm in Merrymeeting. Registration at 5.45pm. Admission Adult €15, Children €5 and Families €30. Join our own Padge McWalter in this Community Fund Raiser

The Kellogg's GAA Cúl website is now LIVE for Bookings. Contact County Coordinator Garrett Doyle 083-4357460 or https://www.kelloggsculcamps.gaa.ie/booking/online/ 
Cúl Camp dates 2017 in St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow Town this year are  
Hurling Cúl Camp 3rd July to 7th July 2017 
Football Cúl Camp 17th July to 21st July 2017

Do you want to Coach on our Kellogg's GAA Cúl Camps 2017? If yes complete the Coaches Application Form. Job Description: Coaches must be over 18 years old on the first day of the camp on 3rd July 2017. NOTE: Coaches must be a paid-up member of their local GAA club. A Coaching Qualification, code of ethics, Garda Vetting and/or Coaching experience and/or evidence of voluntary coaching/work is mandatory in applying for this position. 
Closing Date for return of all fully completed Coaches Application forms is Friday 7th April 2017. All selected coaches will be paid a weekly wage and put through the revenue system in accordance with Croke Park regulations. You may include any further information in support of your application if necessary. 
Note: Late applications will not be accepted or considered and canvassing will disqualify. Selected candidates will be contacted directly on or before Friday 14th April and given dates for mandatory two-day training prior to commencement of Kellogg's GAA Cúl Camps 2017. If Coaches are not Garda Vetted please apply ASAP through your clubs Children Officer.  SUCCESSFUL APPLICANTS MUST BE 18 YEARS OR OLDER 

GRMA (go raibh maith agat) is the new GAA Membership Card programme providing benefits and rewards to GAA members. It is a 'thank you' or 'go raibh maith agat' for your involvement in your GAA club, engagement in GAA activities and attendance at games. 
Membership Cards will only be distributed to members who have signed up to GRMA online www.grma.gaa.ie. The programme is only available to adult members (over 18's). 
If you have any further queries, contact the GRMA team. http://gaa.ie/grma  or Club Registrar Eddie Leonard

Want to get pupils more involved in Ladies Football? Take part in the LGFA TY Programme!
The LGFA is committed to developing a TY/AS programme that will prepare students for "eventual roles as players, coaches, and administrators in the future". The association is committed to "building leadership, team work and networking skills" into the TY/AS programme. 
As a result, the TY/AS programme was revamped and re-launched for the 2013/14 academic year with an aim of making the programme more attractive to schools looking to identify modules that are reflective of the many aims outlined in the TY/AS Curriculum. The LGFA TY/AS programmes' key focus is to ensure students gain lifelong skills that are transferable to many aspects of academic and social situations both inside and outside the school.
Aims of the LGFA TY/AS programme:
Upon completion of the LGFA TY/AS Programme students will have:
• Developed personal skills particularly in the areas of coaching and refereeing of Ladies football.
• Created links with key partners in the community during the event planning module, therefore preparing them for their role as responsible members of society.
Leinster - Linda Monaghan, PH: (057) 867 1255 (w), (087) 768 1288 (m) [email protected]

Ladies contact details for 2017 and training times  
Please note that starting dates will be confirmed by Managers to players/parents. 
Nursery: Joanne Kavanagh 0851682619 with Gary Duffy, Sophia Kavanagh  Saturdays 11am to 12pm 
U8: Mark Donoghue 0868527767 with Maria Lawlor, Margaret Leonard  Saturdays 11am to 12pm 
U10: Rob Greene 0861676270 with Stephen McNulty, Damian O'Brien, Suzanne Lawlor and Tara Treanor  Saturdays 11am to 12pm 
U12: Liam Keogh 0862120100 with Sean O'Brien, Trina Keogh, Clara Jenkinson and Anne O'Keane  Saturdays 10am to 11.30am and Tuesdays 6.30pm to 7.30pm 
U14: Eddie Leonard 0868349272 with Tara Gorman, Garett O'Reilly and Gerry Walsh  Saturdays 9.15am to 11am and Tuesdays 6pm to 7.30pm
U16: Brian McSorley 0862996799 with Brendan Kavanagh, Martin Byrne, Patrice Evans and Georgina Cruise  Saturdays 9.30am to 11am and Thursdays 6.30pm to 8pm 
Adult Ladies: Robert Hollingsworth 087 617 4046 with Lee Watters, Dave Fitzgerald, Rebecca Hollingsworth and Liz Malone 
Wednesdays 7.30pm to 9pm, Fridays 7.30pm to 9pm and Sundays 9am to 10.30am

Underage Team Contact details for 2017                
Football 
Nursery Willie Carey 083 8570491 
U7       Bosco Guinan 087 7965284 
U9       Christian Czwalina      087 4184677 
U11     Steven Farrell 086 8147999 
U13     Paul O'Brien    087 9088779 
U14 (Feile) Paul O'Brien 087 9088779 
U15     Paul Fox 087 9447982 
U17     John Smith 086 8130477

Hurling                        
Nursery Willie Carey 083 8570491 
U7       Gary O'Leary 086 021 9447 
U9       John Joe McCoy 087 2388139 
U11     Alan Lawlor 086 2784498 
U13     Brian Gleeson 086 8281124 
U17     John O'Brien 086 4058605                 

The Ladies Section are partaking in a LGFA Pilot focussing on Teenage Players. 
The Gaelic4Teens Programme will be run for 6 weeks starting on Tuesday 7th March. 
We will train from 7pm to 8pm for the next 6 Tuesdays for Girls from U15 to U17 in East Glendalough School. 
Our Coaches are attending Courses run by Croke Park which are focussing on Teenage Girls Nutrition, Lifestyles and Training/Playing. 
The Final Day of the Programme will be a visit to Croke Park for all participants for workshops, activities and playing time on Tuesday 18 April. 
Can you please arrive for 6.45pm for this session, please? 
Please note that this will replace Tuesdays U16 training for the next 6 weeks.

2017 MEMBERSHIP: 
You can pay your membership subscription directly into the club bank account by electronic transfer if you wish. Simply enter the club bank account details and attach a message with your name and membership type e.g. Smith Family, or your membership number if you know it. Please notify Club Treasurer James Phelan ([email protected]) or Club Registrar Eddie Leonard when you have done this so that your membership payment can be recorded as paid" 
Bank of Ireland, Main St., Wicklow 
IBAN: IE22 BOFI 9067 3461 6931 54  BIC: BOFIIE2D

Dates for your Diary: 
Fixtures in Dunbur for April:  
08/04: 2-00pm County Wicklow v County Louth - U14 Ladies Football 
09/04: 11-30am St. Patrick's v Coolboy Div.3 Junior A Football 
11/04: 7-00pm St. Patrick's v AGB U16 Ladies Football 
15/04: 5-00pm St. Patrick's v Blessington Senior Football League Div. 1 
25/04: 7-15pm St. Patricks v Blessington U16 Ladies Football 
27/04: 7-15pm St. Patricks v A.G.B. U14 Ladies Football 

Please note that there has also been a change to the nights assigned to specific underage teams.  
U13 and U17 matches will now be played on Monday nights 
U11 and U15 matches will now be played on Wednesday nights.

U17 Football for all players born in 2000, 2001 and 2002 will continue training on Monday at 7.30pm and Friday at 6pm. All welcome.

U17 Hurling for all players born in 2000, 2001 and 2002 will continue training on Tuesday at 4pm. Bring Runners. All welcome.

Every Sunday Evening 6pm - 7:15pm St Pats U14 Boys football (anyone born in 2003 or 2004) for some fun games to get the season started in the clubhouse Dunbur. It will be in the hall so wear runners. All U14s welcome

Our U16 ladies train every Tuesday and Thursday night in East Glendalough School at 7pm all new players very welcome come give it a go

Each Tuesday U7 indoor hurling from 6-45pm to 7-45pm in the hall. All U7's welcome contact Tomás on 086 1933796

Each Friday U11 hurling continues in Rathnew Soccer Club Indoor Arena from 7pm.Contact Alan on 086 2784498. Helmets and hurls will be provided for beginners!

Every Friday U9 hurling continues in Rathnew Soccer Club Indoor Arena from 6-7pm, contact John Joe on 087 2388139 Helmets and hurls will be provided for beginners!

St. Patricks GAA Club 2017 version of our Last Man Standing fundraising competition for our club. Hard luck to those of you who fell this week with Derry falling to Cork. After this weekend's results, we only have 17 people left standing who had selected Cork, Galway and Meath. Remember you cannot pick a team you have already chosen.  All remaining competitors must choose from Division 1. Please submit your team selection on or before Friday 31st March

We had no Winners for our Match 5 and 4 Lotto Jackpots. Don't forget to buy your ticket this week. If you are not in you cannot win!
Numbers drawn were 6, 21, 27 and 28. The bonus number was 24. 
We had no Match three winners. 
Thanks to the weekly Club Lotto Sellers who give up their time to help raise funds for the Club. It's greatly appreciated. The next draw is on Monday 2th March in the Clubhouse. Make sure you buy a ticket each week and you could be the winner of our Match 4 prize €1,600 or Match 5 €10,000 jackpot!

Our sincere condolences to the family of Edward (Ned / Eddie) Lynch of Wicklow Town and late of Donard who passed away 19th March 2017 suddenly but peacefully at his home in his 95th year. Beloved husband of the late Joan. He will be sadly missed by his loving daughters Geraldine and Siobhán, son-in-law Eamonn, grandchildren Cian, Niamh, Caoimhe and Odhrán, nephews and nieces, his good friend Kathleen, extended family and friends. 
Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

Please send any information for club notes to [email protected] before 9pm on Sunday evenings. You can contact St Pats at Facebook St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow Town or Twitter @StPatsGAAWick

Most Read Stories