Leinster MFC: Dubs too strong for Wicklow and Westmeath find that bit extra in local derby

June 01, 2019

Wicklow's Daniel Cooney with Alex Rogers of Dublin during the Leinster MFC quarter-final at Aughrim

Dublin advanced to the last four of the Leinster MFC at Wicklow’s expense today while Westmeath sent neighbours Meath packing in an extra-time thriller.

The Sky Blues registered a 0-20 to 1-9 victory over the Garden County in Aughrim.

With the aid of a strong wind at their back, the visitors established a commanding 0-12 to 0-3 half-time lead.

To their credit, Wicklow refused to throw in the towel and their efforts were rewarded with a Joe Prendergast goal while they were denied a second three pointer by Dublin goalkeeper Hugh O’Sullivan who saved a penalty.

It was a much closer affair in Mullingar where the home side prevailed on a scoreline of 2-15 to 1-14.

Shane Reid’s extra-time goal swung the game in the Lake County’s favour.

Normal time had finished with the sides deadlocked on 1-13 apiece after Niall Finnerty (Meath) and Fionn O’Hara (Westmeath) traded goals.

Centre-forward Luke Buckley came to the team in maroon and white’s rescue when sending over an equalising point via a free in the fourth minute of stoppage time and they made the most of their reprieve in extra-time.

Dublin - H O'Sullvan; C Tyrrell, B Millist, C Archer; J Lundy, D O'Dowd, K Conroy; L Murphy Guinane (0-1), S Forker; R O'Dwyer (0-3, 2f), S Kinsella (0-1), F Murray (0-6, 3f, 1'45); R Bolger (0-1), L Swan (0-1), A Rogers (0-4). Subs: T Brennan for S Kinsella, R Keogh (0-1) for R O'Dwyer, J Rooney for J Lundy, L Curran (0-2) for R Bolger, H Colclough for L Murphy Guinane.

Wicklow - A Nolan; D Healy, S Kearney, J Brady; D Cooney, T Moran, B Hickey; A Daly Danne, C McDonald; L Harney, S Daly (0-4), J Prendergast (1-1); E Doyle, J Kirwan, M Ging (0-3, 2f). Subs: E O'Neill for J Kirwan, C Fulham for J Brady, T Shanahan for D Cooney, T Keogh (0-1) for S Kearney.

Referee - S Mulhare.


Westmeath - J Mulkearns; D Smyth, D Fagan, C Daly; D Seery, E Martin (0-1), J Gahan; C Gibney, F O'Hara (1-2); A Treanor, L Buckley (0-3, 2f), D Hill; B McGauran (0-6, 3f), S Reid (1-1), D Leech (0-1). Subs: C Lawlor (0-1) for D Smyth, M Flynn for D Fagan, B Killian for D Hill, S Williams for C Lawlor, J Corcoran for B Killian, R Hanley for D Leech, D Mnguni for S Reid.

Meath - D Pluck; J Fagan, J McGovern, H Corscadden; S O'Donoghue, A Chinchilla, A McDonnell; J Carolan (0-1), E Ehichoya; C Hegarty, N Finnerty (1-3, 0-2f), E Corrigan; S Smyth, D Bell, E Frayne (0-9, 6f, 1'45). Subs: P Sheridan for E Corrigan, B Thompson (0-1) for E Ehichoya, J Brown for P Sheridan, H Ryan for D Bell, A King for J Carolan (BC), Corrigan for S Smyth, B Cassidy for A Chinchilla (BC).

Referee - D Fedigan.

Most Read Stories