FL4 round-up: Derry and Leitrim push on

February 10, 2019

Derry's Paul McNeill, Leitrim's Darragh Rooney, Wicklow's Mark Jackson and Killian Butler of London.

Derry and Leitrim have maintained their perfect records at the top of Division Four, beating Waterford and Antrim respectively this afternoon.

At Fraher Field, 13-man Derry emerged victorious on a 2-12 to 1-8 scoreline. With a mere 233 in attendance, Sean Whelan-Barrett’s goal gave Na Deise a great start but Shane McGuigan’s three-pointer had the teams level at the break, 1-5 apiece.

Oak Leaf County pair Jason Rocks and Conor McAtamney were sent off for second yellow cards in the second half but corner back Paul McNeill netted three minutes from time to confirm the visitors' third straight win.

In Carrick-on-Shannon, meanwhile, Domhnaill Flynn converted a last-gasp free to hand Leitrim the narrowest of victories over unlucky Antrim, 0-14 to 1-10. Ryan Murray netted early on and the Saffrons led by 1-6 to 0-6 at the break only to come unstuck at the death as Terry Hyland’s men kept pace with Derry at the table top.

Elsewhere in the basement division, London overtook Wexford as they roared to a 2-10 to 0-8 victory at McGovern Park, Killian Butler bagging the all-important first goal, while Theo Smith and Chris O’Brien were the goalscorers at Aughrim, where Limerick suffered their first defeat of the campaign, 2-8 to 1-6, against Wicklow.

Derry - T Mallon; P McNeill (1-0), B Rogers, N Keenan; K McKaigue (0-1), M McEvoy, E McGill; C McKaigue, C McFaul; P Cassidy, C Bradley (0-3, 1f), J Rocks; S McGuigan (1-3), E Bradley (0-2f), N Toner (0-1m). Subs: C McAtamney (0-1) for M McEvoy, E Lynn (0-1) for E Bradley, P Coney for C Bradley, C Mulholland for N Keenan.

Waterford - A Beresford; A Trihy, R O Ceallaigh, J McGrath; S O'Donovan, S Ryan, B Looby; S Aherne, T Prendergast; J Mullaney (0-1), C Murray (0-2), M Curry; F O Cuirrin (0-1), J Curry (0-2f), S Whelan Barrett (1-1). Subs: K Power for T Prendergast, J Gleeson (0-1) for F O Cuirrin, D Fitzgerald for A Trihy, D Hallahan for J Gleeson.

Referee - S Mulhare.


Leitrim - D McKiernan; M McWeeney, P Maguire, A Flynn; S Quinn, M Plunkett (0-1), R Mulvey (0-1); S Moran, P Dolan; S McWeeney, D Flynn (0-3f), J Heslin (0-1); D Moran, E Sweeney, R O'Rourke (0-5, 4f). Subs: D Rooney (0-3) for J Heslin, G Plunkett for D Moran, E Mulligan for E Sweeney, S Flanagan for P Dolan.

Antrim - P Nugent; P McCormick, R Johnston, P Gallagher; N Delargy, M McCarry, D Lynch; M Sweeney, M Johnston; K Quinn, S Beatty, P McBride (0-2f); C Duffin (0-1), M Fitzpatrick (0-2), R Murray (1-5, 0-1f). Subs: C Hamill for P McCormick, O McKeown for S Beatty, E McCabe for C Duffin, R McCann for K Quinn.

Referee - B Judge.


London - G McEvoy; P Butler, M Clarke, M Moynihan; D Carrabine, A McGarvey, R Jones; R Forde, L Gavaghan (0-6, 4f); B Tully, M Gottsche, R Kearney; C Doran (0-1), D Dunne (0-1), K Butler (1-2). Subs: A Hanlon for R Forde, E Flanagan for R Jones, L Gallagher for B Tully, C Houlihan (1-0) for C Doran.

Wexford - M Doyle; M Furlong, G Sheehan, C Carty; B Malone (0-1), S Doyle, M O'Connor; D Waters, N Hughes; K O'Grady (0-1), J Bealin (0-5f), C Devitt; B O'Connor, C Devereux, J Tubritt (0-1). Subs: D Shannon for B O'Connor, R Frayne for K O'Grady, M O'Regan for D Shannon.

Referee - S Mulvihill.


Wicklow - M Jackson (0-1f); O Manning, R O’Brien, J Snell; D Devereux, S Mooney, D Fitzgerald; P O’Toole, D Healy (0-1); M Fitzsimons, M Kenny, T Smith (1-1); C O’Brien (1-2, 0-1f), S Duffy (0-3, 1f), P O’Connor. Subs: P McLoughlin for M Fitzsimons, D Keane for P O’Connor, C Heal for T Smith, E Murtagh for S Duffy, F O’Brien for C O’Brien.

Limerick - D O’Sullivan; S O’Dea, G Noonan, P Maher; C McSweeney (0-2), I Corbett, C Fahy; D Treacy, T Childs; P Nash, J Lee (0-1), B Donovan; S McSweeney (0-3, 2f, 1m), P Begley, S O’Carroll (1-0). Subs: S Keeley for T Childs, M Fitzgibbon for P Nash, A Enright for B Donovan, M Donovan for P Maher, K Daly for J Lee.

Referee - D Murnane.

Most Read Stories