FL3 round-up: wins for Fermanagh, Longford, Armagh and Westmeath

January 28, 2018

Longford's Robbie Smyth.
©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

It looks like Division Three will be tight this year as four teams opened their accounts with impressive victories this afternoon.

At Brewster Park, Seamus Quigley netted twice inside seven minutes at the end of the first half as Fermanagh saw off Wexford by 3-7 to 2-5 in a tempestuous clash

Midfielder Nick Doyle pulled back a goal for the Model County when the action resumed but Conall Jones quickly blasted home the Erne County's third. The hosts had Ryan Jones dismissed before the Slaneysiders netted through Tiarnan Rossiter, who was also sent off along with team-mate Brian Malone.

Fermanagh selector Ryan McMenamin was sent to the stands and Quigley was black-carded before the end.

Fermanagh's Seamus Quigley. ©INPHO/John McVitty.

In Tullamore, Longford - a team to watch this year - were mightily impressive as they powered to a 3-18 to 1-13 win over Offaly. The visitors led by 0-14 to 1-1 at the break, with Cian Donoghue netting for the Faithfuls against the run of play, and kicked on with second-half goals from Sean McCormack, Rian Brady and Conor Berry to win pulling up.

Armagh had 14 points to spare over Sligo at the Athletic Grounds, 2-17 to 0-9. The Orchard led by 0-10 to 0-2 at the interval after slotting the first seven scores and Andrew Murnin palmed to the net upon the resumption before Ethan Rafferty added the second goal.

And 14-man Westmeath led from start to finish at Celtic Park, coming away with an impressive 2-17 to 2-14 triumph against Derry. Callum McCormack netted in the first minute and captain John Heslin converted a penalty; Enda Lynn's goal had the Oak Leaf in touch at the break, 2-7 to 1-7.

Derry closed back to within a point and looked odds-on when Sam Duncan received a straight red card, but the dismissal of the influential James Kielt for a second yellow quickly restored numerical parity.

The Lake County pushed on and Enda Lynn's injury-time penalty was saved after Niall Toner netted Derry's second goal.

Fermanagh - P Cadden; K Connor (0-1), C Cullen, C McManus; J McMahon, L Cullen, D McCusker; E Donnelly, R Jones (0-3); R Lyons, B Mulrone, A Breen (0-1); D Teague, C Jones (1-0), Seamus Quigley (2-1, 0-1f). Subs: E Maguire for D Teague, P McCusker (0-1) for R Lyons, M Jones for Seamus Quigley, Sean Quigley for L Cullen, R McCluskey for J McMahon, C McGee for E Maguire.

Wexford - P Doyle; M Furlong, M O'Neill, J Rossiter; G Malone, B Malone, B O'Gorman; D Waters (0-1), N Doyle (1-1); T Rossiter (1-0), B O'Connor, D Shanley (0-2f); P Curtis, E Nolan, C McCabe. Subs: S Byrne for B O'Connor, C Carty for B O'Gorman, R Frayne for D Shanley, C Devereux (0-1) for C McCabe, M Rossiter for P Curtis.

Referee - L Devenney.


Longford - P Collum (0-1'45); P Fox, P McCormack, P Foy; B Gilleran (0-2), M Quinn, B McKeon; D Gallagher, A Farrell; D Reynolds (0-1), C Berry (1-0), D Mimnagh; R Smyth (0-8, 4f), S McCormack (1-4), R Brady (1-2). Subs: D McElligott for P Foy, R McEntire for D Gallagher, D McGivney for A Farrell, P Foy for P Fox, J McGivney for D Reynolds, P Gill for D Mimnagh, S Donohue for C Berry.

Offaly - A Mulhall; D Brady, P McConway, S Pender; D Dempsey, C Donoghue (1-0), J Lalor; S Nally, C Dunne; J Hayes, A Sullivan (0-2, 1f), M Brazil; B Allen (0-3, 1f), C Johnson (0-3), N Dunne (0-1f). Subs: J O'Connor (0-1) for J Lalor, P Cunningham for J Hayes, N Darby for M Brazil, C McNamee (0-1) for C Dunne, J Moloney for D Brady, S Tierney (0-2) for N Dunne.

Referee - N McKenna.


Armagh - B Hughes; P Burns, A McKay, P Hughes; N Rowland (0-1), G McCabe, M Shields (0-1); S Sheridan (0-1), C Vernon (0-1); R McShane, A Forker (0-1), R Lappin; R Grugan (0-6, 5f), A Murnin (1-0), E Rafferty (1-3). Subs: N Grimley (0-3) for R Lappin, J McElroy for G McCabe, G McCabe for J McElroy, B Crealey for R McShane, J McElroy for A Forker.

Sligo - A Devaney; L Nicholson, E McGuinness, M Gordon; Keelan Cawley, D Cummins, G O'Kelly Lynch; J Clarke, P O'Connor; N Ewing, F Cawley, N Murphy; S Coen (0-3), P Hughes, A Marren (0-6, 4f, 2'45). Subs: C Breheny for J Clarke, L Gaughan for F Cawley, S Carrabine for D Cummins, Kyle Cawley for P O'Connor.

Referee - B Cawley.


Westmeath - E Carberry; M McCallon, K Daly, B Sayeh; N Mulligan, S Duncan, J Dolan; A Stone, G Egan (0-2); K Martin (0-1), J Heslin (1-7, 0-5f), R O'Toole (0-1); C McCormack (1-4), L Loughlin (0-2), J Egan. Subs: F Boyle for K Daly, D Whelan for R O'Toole.

Derry - B McKinless; N Keenan, K Johnston, R Mooney; M Bateson (0-2), L McGoldrick, M McEvoy; C McAtamney, E Bradley (0-2f); E Lynn (1-0), P Hagan (0-1), C McFaul (0-2); D Tallon (0-2), J Kielt (0-3, 2f), N Toner (1-0). Subs: C Doherty for M McEvoy, M Lynch (0-2f) for D Tallon.

Referee - J Molloy.

Most Read Stories