Mullingar Shamrocks GAA Notes

June 10, 2019

ACL Div. 1: Mullingar Shamrocks 1-9 Rosemount 1-10

Mullingar Shamrocks and Rosemount played an exciting final ACL Div.1 league match in Springfield on Sunday morning with Declan Mullen's last minute pointed free securing victory for Rosemount who had already qualified for the league final.  

Any resemblance between this match and what transpired later in the afternoon in Cusack Park was totally coincidental. Strangers might think they were watching different sports.

The sides were level at the interval thanks to a great Rosemount goal scored by Shane Tone whose blasted to the net to finish a great move that began with the Rosemount goalkeeper collecting a Shamrocks scoring attempt that dropped short.  The ball was moved swiftly downfield for the equalising score on the stroke of  half-time. Paddy Joyce opened the scoring for Shamrocks with his first touch of the 2019 season when he  finished a move that involved Alan Cashman, Brendan O'Reilly and Dean Moore.

Normal business was resumed for Paddy who was presented with his 2018 county medal after the match by manager Ned Moore. Ross Corroon added to the lead with a mighty long range free. David Tone, Declan Mullen and Shane Tone had points to establish a Rosemount lead before Dónal O'Donoghue flicked a Dean Moore delivery to the Rosemount net (1-2 to 0-3). Ross Corroon and Dean Moore pointed to extend the lead but Rosemount responded with 1-2  before the halftime break.

Declan Mullen and Ross Corroon dominated the scoring during the second half. Ross contributed all four of Shamrocks' scores .... the finest was a massive free taken from his hands close to the sideline and at the wrong side for a right footed kicker. A Maurice Fitzgerald-Denis Corroon style effort but without any bend. Just kicked straight between the posts.  However it was Rosemount who came away with the league points as they twice established a lead in the final minutes ... the first time with a point from David Tone which was nullified by a Ross Corroon pointed free and the final time with Declan Mullen's late free.  

Mullingar Shamrocks: Daragh Ryan; Eddie Moore (Dillon Matthews), Kieran Gavin, Mark Butler; Paddy Joyce [0-1] (Cormac Murphy), Efe Siode, Aaron Purcell; Dónal O'Donoghue (1-0) and Daragh Daly; Pearse Corroon, Brendan O'Reilly, Alan Cashman; Ross Corroon (0-7), Dean Moore (0-1) and Billy Flynn.

ACL Div. 3 League: Mullingar Shamrocks 2-14 St Loman's 2-5.

Our ACL Div.3 completed the league programme with a good victory over St Loman's in Lakepoint Park. Courtesy of a great Gary Corroon goal and a second goal from Peter Collins Shamrocks were deserving half-time leaders on a 2-7 to 0-4 scoreline. Although Garret Hickey goaled twice in the second-half Shamrocks dominated and a great save from Daragh Ryan and  points from Gary Corroon (0-2), Ciarán Curley (0-2), Ross Corroon (0-2) and Dillon Matthews delivered the victory and the two league points.

Mullingar Shamrocks: Daragh Ryan; Stephen Hassett, Marc Eivers, Cormac Murphy; Billy Flynn, James Grogan, Brendan O'Reilly; Pearse Corroon, Alan Cashman; Dillon Mathews, Darren Keena, Ross Corroon; Gary Corroon, Ciarán Curley, Peter Collins.  

The Joe Matthews Memorial Under-10 Tournament ...

Mullingar Shamrocks’ under-10 squad made the short journey to St. Loman's on bank holiday Monday last to participate in the Joe Matthews Memorial Tournament.

A fantastic day’s football was had by all with well over 200 young boys showcasing their skills on a blustery day. The Downs, Shandonagh, shamrocks and St. Mary’s Rochfortbridge garnered the various trophies on display but this really was a day when underage football was the ultimate victor. Shamrocks had no fewer than 43 players on duty representing three teams and it’s fair to say that there were tired but happy boys after playing five matches each.

Credit to the host club for putting on a superb tournament, a fitting tribute to a great club stalwart and indeed Joe’s grandson Cian was one of St. Loman's star players as they reached the final. The organisational skills of Lorcan Sleator ensured that the event ran very smoothly and the players and, indeed parents, were well fed afterwards. Every player on duty received a medal and participated in a final. The following players represented the club with distinction and were well supported by many parents and siblings: Harry Tilson, Paddy Colleary, MJ Burke, Zac Masterson, Enrico Mc Carthy, Liam Forde, Fionn Ledwith, Cian Traynor, Manus Kelly, Theo Kelly, Colm Clinton, Ruairi Kelly, Conan Kelly, Elliott Harte, Ben Murphy, Jamie Timoney, John Gilbride, Zach Gilbride, Nathan O’ Reilly, Christy Joyce, Padraig Regan, Killian Hand, Christian Conway, Darragh McCabe, Ciaran Donoghue, Hugo Corroon, Rian Sheerin, Carl Keane, Oliver Keane, Conor Walsh, Sam Briody, Oisin Gavin, Conor Matthews, Jonah Hassett, Ryan McNamee, Scott Farrelly, Conor Glynn, Alfie Rock and Darragh Daly. The players were coached by Matt Ledwith, Seán Corroon, Gerry Briody, Tom Keane, Adrian Regan, Barry Kelly, Greg Gavin, Micheál Burke, Shane Colleary, Anthony Clinton with Josh Burke and Harry Gavin the team mascots

Fathiya Abdelrahim shines a light on modern day Sudan ...

Fathiya is a member of Mullingar Shamrocks and on RTE News on Friday night  told of her concerns for the well being of members of her family and friends  in Sudan. You can listen to Fathiya's story at

Congrats to Claire Fagan

On a cold and windy night in Galway Claire Fagan ran the qualifying standard for the European Under 23 Track and Field Championships. Claire ran 36.01 for 10000m which is under both the European Athletics standard of 36.15 and the tougher mark of 36.05 set by Athletics Ireland.
Earlier this month Claire picked up the most Improved Athlete of the Year at the DCU athletics awards.

Under-10 LGF Blitz in Clonmellon

Mullingar Shamrocks Ladies travelled to Clonmellon GAA club to compete in an Under-10 Blitz this morning. The girls played great football showing off the many skills they have picked up along the way, tackling, hand-passing and plenty of kicking. The girls played three games against St Paul’s/Delvin, Killucan and Kinnegad. Well done to all the girls who took part and played great football in lovely sunny conditions. Thank you to St Pauls/Delvin for being the hosts and to all the supporters who travelled to cheer on the girls.  

Mullingar Shamrocks: Aya Hacini, Grainne Flood, Tess Foy, Anna Clarke, Carley O’Herron , Helena Pietrzak-Wolodko, Grainne Heap, Marta Paul, Emily O’Reilly, Tamara Alagic, Holly Doyle, Ula Kulej, Aida Glover.

Under-8 Blitz in Kinnegad ...

Our Under-8 footballers travelled to Kinnegad on Saturday morning for the blitz organised by the home club. All players got over an hour's football and really enjoyed themselves. Great to see them improving week on week with loads of good football and plenty of blocking and tackling including one defensive effort seeing four blocks in a row to stop a goal effort. Some great scores also. Great morning all round.

The Late Emer Groonell ...

Mullingar Shamrocks executive and members were saddened to learn of the untimely death of Emer Groonell after bravely battling illness for the past two years and offer sincere sympathy to Emer's  family and friends. Emer is sister of Ailish Gavin and sister-in-law of Davy and auntie of Kieran and David.  Emer's support for Castlebar Mitchels, Mayo  and Mullingar Shamrocks never wavered and Emer was present in Cusack Park  last October proudly proudly and stylishly wearing the green and white headband cheering Shamrocks to victory

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a-anam dilís

Most Read Stories