Peadar Lehane Cup: Great start for Meath

June 10, 2019

Great control from Meath full back Gary Fleming after a brilliant run up the field as Westmeath's Colm Murray and Brian Farrell give chase during the opening round of the Peadar Lehane Cup in Trim.

Meath 1-17 Westmeath 0-16

Meath minor hurlers got their Peadar Lehane Cup campaign of to a winning start with this four point victory over neighbours Westmeath in ideal conditions at Lomans Park Trim. To view photos click here

Thanks to the very accurate Shane Williams, Westmeath forged a 0-5 to 0-2 lead after 10 minutes. The home side had the game all square five minutes latter with scores from Martin Keogh and Conor McGovern and got their noses in front when midfielder James Murray fired home a penalty. 

McGovern added a brace to open up a 1-7 to 0-7 lead but the visitors finished with five points through Matthew Glynn, Williams (2) and full forward Brian Farrell (2) to send the teams in at the break level 1-9 to 0-12.

The sides were still level, 1-12 to 0-15, after 10 minutes of the second half but Meath were beginning to exert their dominance. Points from Jack Lanigan (2), McGovern (2) and Murray sealed the win for Philip Lyons' charges.

Substitute Ben Harte had the ball in the Meath net to tie up the game, 0-19 to 1-16, with minutes left but his effort was disallowed by referee Gearoid McGrath after a foul on Meath keeper Conor Lyons.

Meath scorers: James Murray 1-4, Conor McGovern 0-6, Jack Lanigan 0-4, Martin Keogh 0-3.

Westmeath scorers: Shane Williams 0-11, Conor Murphy and Brian Farrell 0-2 each, Matthew Glynn 0-1.

Meath: Conor Lyons, Niall O'Laoire, Gary Fleming, Shane Clarke, Cathal Smith, Dylan Farrell, Brian Moore, James Murray, Luke Horan, Conor McGovern, Jack Lanigan, Justin Coyne, Martin Keogh, Sean Murphy, Lee Walsh. Sub: Ciaran Lonergan, Cathal McKeown, Lee Coldrick.

Westmeath: Jamie Mukearns, Eoin Murray, Zack Ahearne, Eoin Rhattigan, Evan Scally, Ciaran Clear, Colm Murray, Ciaran Daly, Matthew Glynn, Aaron Hill, Shane Williams, Andrew Shaw, Conor Murphy, Brain Farrell, Pierce Weir Norris. Subs: Eamonn Martin, Dean Swords, Ben Harte, Sean Power

Referee Gearoid McGrath Wexford

Most Read Stories