Team news: all change for Westmeath

December 08, 2018

Westmeath's Luke Loughlin celebrates his late point against Laois

New Westmeath football manager Jack Cooney has selected a new-look team for tomorrow's O'Byrne Cup against Carlow at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Noel Mulligan, Denis Corroon and Luke Loughlin are the only regular starters in the starting XV which features a host of debutants, including Milltownpass' Noel O'Reilly at wing back, St Loman's Sean Flanagan in midfield, James Maxwell of Coralstown/Kinnegad at wing forward, Joe Halligan of Milltown and Shandonagh's Tom Molloy, both in the full forward line. 

Former Dublin manager Tommy Carr's son Gareth is named at corner back, while there's a recall for Paddy Fagan who was outstanding for Mullingar Shamrocks in their surprise Westmeath SFC success this year.

Westmeath (SF v Carlow): Eoin Carberry; Boidu Sayeh, Ronan Wallace, Gareth Carr; Noel O'Reilly, Noel Mulligan, Conor Slevin; Sean Flanagan, Denis Corroon; Anthony McGivney, Paddy Fagan, James Maxwell; Luke Loughlin, Joe Halligan, Tom Molloy.

Most Read Stories