Waterford SFC final: Stradbally find that bit extra

December 03, 2017

Stradbally celebrate their senior football championship victory over The Nire. Photo credit: @WaterfordGAA

Stradbally are celebrating a first Waterford SFC success since 2015 this evening after scoring an extra-time final victory over The Nire today.

The Fraher Field scoreboard read Stradbally 1-15, The Nire 1-14 after eighty plus minutes of exciting action.

The sides had finished level on 1-13 apiece at the end of normal time after Tom Barron (The Nire) and Ger Crowley traded goals in the first-half.

Stradbally's Shane Aherne walked away with the 'man-of-the-match' accolade.

Stradbally - E Cunningham; Ciaran Cusack, K Lawlor, J Mullaney (0-1); T Grey, S Lannon, L Casey; M Walsh (0-1), S Aherne (0-3); D Weldon (0-2), E O'Brien (0-4, 1f), N Connors; M Sweeney (0-1), R Aherne (0-2, 1f), G Crowley (1-0). Subs: T Connors (0-1) for N Connors, A Doyle for L Casey (BC), G Power for G Crowley, S Keane for M Sweeney, Cathal Cusack for D Weldon, G Crowley for E O'Brien, K Coffey for J Mullaney.

The Nire - D Murphy (0-1f); J Walsh, T O'Gorman, M Moore; Darren Guiry, Shane Ryan, D Ryan (0-1); J McGrath, T Guiry; S Lawlor, C Gleeson (0-8, 5f), Dylan Guiry; T Barron (1-1), C Guiry, S Walsh (0-3). Subs: J Mulcahy for S Lawlor, M O'Gorman for J McGrath, S O'Meara for T Guiry, Stephen Ryan for C Guiry, J McGrath for Stephen Ryan, S Lawlor for M O'Gorman, K Brazil for T Barron.

Referee - A Fitzgerald.

Most Read Stories