Rackard Cup: wins for Warwickshire and Tyrone

May 12, 2019

Tyrone's Damian Casey.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Warwickshire and Tyrone have made winning starts to their Nicky Rackard Cup campaigns.

Warwickshire came away from Glennon Brothers Pearse Park with a 1-15 to 1-12 victory over Longford, while Tyrone defeated Mayo by 1-15 to 0-15 at Healy Park.

A David Buckley goal gave Longford an early advantage, but the Exiles netted from a 29th minute penalty and went on to lead by 1-8 to 1-4 at the break.

In Omagh, Damian Casey scored 1-12 as Tyrone overcame Mayo after leading by 1-8 to 0-9 at half-time.

Warwickshire - P Crean; T Kelly, D Bruen, K Meaney; P Scally (0-2), J Collins (0-3f), M O'Regan; C Heeney, R Curley; N Kennedy (1-2), W Allen (0-3, 2f), B Fallon (0-3); E McCabe (0-1), K Magee, I Dwyer. Subs: M Holland (0-1) for R Curley, P Crehan for E McCabe.

Longford - E Daly; P Corcoran, K Murray, C McLoughlin; P Leonard, C Mullane (0-1), B Hanley; D Buckley (1-4, 0-4f), P Barden; M O'Donohoe (0-2), J Casey, C Kavanagh (0-1); R Murray (0-1), E Tully, E Naughton (0-2). Subs: D Connell for P Leonard, D Duggan for E Tully, S O'Brien (0-1) for M O'Donohoe.

Referee - K Brady.


Tyrone - C McElhatton; S Muldoon, R Devlin, J Kerr; D Rafferty, C Kearns (0-1), D Begley; S Donaghy, C McNally; L Devlin (0-1), C Cross, T Morgan; M Mulgrew, D Casey (1-12, 0-8f), B McGurk. Subs: R McKernan (0-1) for C Cross, J Ferguson for J Kerr, B Gormley for M Mulgrew, C Lagan for S Donaghy.

Mayo - G Hogan; C Murray, C Daly, S Mulroy; S Kenny (0-1), S Coyne, D Kenny; K McDermott, C Freeman (0-1f); C Phillips, K Kiely (0-1), S Regan (0-1); S Boland (0-8, 5f), J Gallagher, A Phillips (0-2). Subs: P Kiely for K Kiely, C Scahill (0-1) for C Phillips, D Huane for K McDermott, E Delaney for J Gallagher, L Harley for A Phillips.

Referee - T Gleeson.

Most Read Stories