Strabane Sigersons club notes

December 06, 2017

Social Club;

The social club will host a weekly Pool Competition every Sunday in the run up to Christmas with the prize for the winner being a free Christmas Turkey, the entry fee is £2 per person.


On Saturday Night (9th) this year's club punters will be paid out after 9pm, there will also be a draw on the night for anyone present.



Last Tuesday night the Fir Trees Hotel played host to the Strabane Sigersons 2017 youth presentation night, with over 100 people in the hall it was a fantastic evening showcasing the brilliant young talent. There were three awards per age group and the winners are listed below;


Under 12 Girls;

Player of The Year: Riley Neeson

Most Improved Player: Niamh Coyle

Toilteanach: Megan McGrath


Under 12 Boys;

Player of The Year: Joe Bishop

Most Improved Player: Oisin Tinney

Toilteanach: Ethan Harkin


Under 14 Girls;

Player of The Year: Liana McIntyre

Most Improved Player: Ellie Friel

Toilteanach: Rhea McAnneny 


Under 14 Boys;

Player of The Year: Eoin Barkley

Most Improved Player: Oisin McGranaghan

Toilteanach: Tiarnan Gallagher


Under 16 Girls;

Player of The Year: Ellie-Jay McMenamin

Most Improved Player: Anna Mortimore

Toilteanach: Shanni Doherty


Under 16 Boys;

Player of The Year: Pól McColgan

Most Improved Player: Jordan O'Doherty

Toilteanach: Connor O'Hagan


Under 18 Girls;

Player of The Year: Aoife O'Kane

Most Improved Player: Aimee Friel

Toilteanach: Touran Baghi


Under 18 Boys;

Player of The Year: Ruairi Gormley

Most Improved Player: Ruairi White

Toilteanach: Jamie Hughes


Congratulations to everyone who received awards for the 2017 season and to those who didn't keep training hard and listening to your coaches.


There was also an appreciation awards for the Tyrone County representatives;

Liana McIntyre

Anna Mortimore

Ellie Jay McMenamin

Aoife O'Kane

Eoin Barkley

Oran McGrath

Oisin Kelly

Oisin McGillion

Aaron McGrath

Gavin O'Kane

Ruairi Gormley


The final award was a culture award for a person who values the Irish Culture for use of our language and plays a full role in music, drama and song. The winner was; Erin Gallagher


Thank you to our special guests who were Tyrone Senior Men's player Ronan McHugh and Tyrone Senior Ladies player Shannon Lynch. Thanks to Club President John McCrory who presented the awards.


Finally, thanks to Melmount extended schools cluster who funding purchased the beautiful trophies. Well done to all our youth in 2017, thank you for your commitment, dedication and respect. Thank you also to all our coaches and volunteers who are the heartbeat of our, we are extremely grateful for all your hard work



The club extends its deepest sympathies to the friends and family of Liam Hannigan, Newtown Street, Harry Doherty, Derry who is the Father of Honorary Vice President Father Michael Doherty.


Mary Queen of the Gael pray for them.



The club Alphalot letters for Monday 4th December were; E-O-P-R - 9 Match 3 Letters - Andrea Burke, Carole Logue, Fiona Dudgeon, James O'Reilly snr, Cobhlaith Crossan c/o Robbie, Sean Dudgeon, Sean McKane, The Waines c/o Gerard Wray, Gael Love - Receives £11 Each - Next Week's Jackpot is £2350.


Sigersons Alphalot is now available with online lotto sales, family and friends at home and around the globe are now able to support the club lotto by buying their lotto through a link which can be found on the club's Facebook page. Click the link below and follow the simple instructions to play Sigersons lotto weekly, this income is vital to the club on a weekly basis, your support is much appreciated.


All club members, players, supporters and parents of underage players are urged to continue to play their part in promoting the Alphalot which is a major source of revenue for the club.


Club Notes Deadline;

Anyone that would like any item in the club notes can they forward me the information by 6pm on a Monday Evening.


Anyone wishing the club notes emailed to them on weekly basis please forward your email address to: ([email protected])


Eunan Harkin P.R.O


Most Read Stories