Munster U20HC: Bowe's quick brace buries Waterford

July 09, 2019

Tipperary's Conor Bowe races away from Waterford's Sam Fitzgerald

Tipperary 3-23
Waterford 0-10

Conor Bowe struck two goals in a minute as Tipperary eased into the Munster U20 hurling championship final at Waterford’s expense in Thurles tonight.

Bowe’s quick fire brace came in the 36th and 37th minutes to help ensure victory for the hosts as they now get set to take on Cork or Clare in the final in a fortnight’s time.

Tipp had led by 0-11 to 0-5 at the break thanks in no small part to the excellent shooting of marksman Jake Morris, who saw a goal chance kept out by Waterford net-minder Dean Beecher in the 17th minute.

Morris would finish with 0-13 to his name while counterpart Billy Power helped to keep the Deise men in it until Bowe’s back-to-back majors served to well and truly kill off this contest.

The victors' third goal came on 45 minutes when Billy Seymour sent Joe Fogarty through and the Moneygall ace did the rest, flashing a brilliant finish past Beecher.

Morris’s withdrawal saw Seymour taking over the free-taking duties afterwards and he’d land two more to increase the hosts’ lead before Andrew Ormond smashed a shot off the Waterford crossbar.

Ormond and Seymour (free) would bump up the hosts’ impressive final tally to 3-23, leaving them with 22 points to spare in the end and a final date against Cork or Clare – whom met tomorrow evening – to relish.

Tipperary - A Browne; C Morgan, M Purcell, C McCarthy; C Connolly, B O'Mara, E Connolly; P Cadell, J Cahill; G O'Connor (0-1), J Fogarty (1-1), C Bowe (2-2); J Morris (0-13, 11f), B Seymour (0-4, 3f), S Hayes (0-1). Subs: K O’Kelly for S Hayes, J Ryan for J Cahill, A Ormond (0-1) for J Morris, N Heffernan for P Cadell, D Ryan for G O’Connor.

Waterford - D Beecher; S Fitzgerald, J Flavin, T Looby; D Booth, I Daly, B Lynch; B Power (0-8f), S Whelan Barrett; T Barron (0-1), I Beecher, G Fives; O O Ceallaigh, M Kiely, J Power (0-1). Subs: T Foley for S Fitzgerald, E O’Reilly for S Whelan Barrett, M Twomey for O O Ceallaigh, M Power for D Booth, L O’Brien for I Daly.

Referee - J Murphy.

Most Read Stories