Fitzgibbon Cup: UCC and DCU set up intriguing semi-final clash

February 07, 2019

DIT's Patrick Maher gets past Chris Crummey of DCU. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

The second semi-final of this year's Fitzgibbon Cup has been confirmed, with UCC and DCU meeting in an intriguing clash.

Both sides came through their respective quarter-finals unscathed tonight, and after today's early results that saw Mary Immaculate College comfortably beat Cork IT and NUI Galway record a thrilling win at Limerick IT, the final four now know their fate.

The bookmakers' favourite to win the competition despite having never won it before, although they were runners-up to UL last year, DCU were simply too good for DIT.

Eoin Roche's outfit ran out 2-19 to 0-12 winners at the DCU Sportsgrounds.

They led by 1-8 to 0-6 at half-time before Donal Burke picked up where he left off with Dublin last weekend by scoring their opening goal shortly after the break.

In the second-half, DCU had the luxury of springing a host of inter-county stars off the bench including Wexford pair Aaron Maddock and Rory O'Connor.

Meanwhile, at the Mardyke, goals from Mark Kehoe and Shane Kingston powered UCC to a 3-19 to 1-11 victory over IT Carlow.

An All-Ireland U21 winner with Tipperary in 2018, Kehoe's first strike was all that separated the sides at the interval when Tom Kingston's charges were in front by 1-8 to 0-8 before they upped the tempo on their Carlow opponents after the restart.

Kingston added another UCC major in the 36th minute before Kehoe grabbed his second near the end to wrap up the win.

The semi-finals are set to be played next Tuesday, 12 February and will take place at neutral venues.

Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final line-up:


Mary Immaculate v NUI Galway

DCU - O Foley; P Smyth, E O’Donnell, J Curran; P Foley, C Delaney, C Crummey; D Reck (0-1), R McBride (0-1); D Burke (1-0), K Doyle (0-2), F Whitely (0-1); J Bergin (0-8, 7f), P Curran, S Morrissey (1-1). Subs: B Ryan for P Curran, A Maddock for J Curran, R O’Connor (0-2) for K Doyle, J Donnelly (0-2) for S Morrissey, F McGibb (0-1) for R McBride.

DIT - J Treacy; D Egerton, S Brennan, S McClelland; D Keogh, D Kelly, C Ryan; P Maher, A Clarke (0-1); N Walsh (0-1), L Blanchfield (0-1), G Whelan; B Quinn, E Dunne (0-7f), E Dillon (0-2). Subs: B McHugh for S McClelland, J McGuirk for B Quinn, Q Saunders for N Walsh.

Referee - S Stack.


UCC - J Barry; K Dwyer, E Gunning, N O’Leary; C O’Leary (0-4f), P O’Loughlin, D Griffin (0-1); E Murphy, M Coleman (0-1); C Roche, C Browne, R Donohoe; S Conway (0-6f), S Kingston (1-2), M Kehoe (2-3). Subs: R O’Flynn (0-2) for R Donohoe, E Sheehan for C Roche, D Lynch for E Murphy, D Walsh for S Kingston, J O’Sullivan for M Coleman.

IT Carlow - E Rowland (0-1f); R Mullaney (0-1), R Brown, S Reck; M Redmond (0-1), J Cleere, M Harney; T Nolan, R Leahy (1-1); C Dunbar (0-2), S Downey, C Dunford; S Casey (0-5f), C Nolan, M Dowling. Subs: S Bergin for M Dowling, C Langton for R Brown.

Referee - F Horgan.

Join the match tracker on Saturday and Sunday for live coverage of the Allianz Football League, as well as the All-Ireland club championships.

Most Read Stories