Munster Club JHC final: Verling points the way for Cloughduv

December 02, 2018

Cloughduv players celebrate with the Cork JHC silverware. Pic via Cloughduv Hurling Club on Facebook.

Cloughduv were crowned Munster Club Junior Hurling Champions at Mallow today.

The Cork outfit overcame the challenge of Waterford’s Ballinameela by 0-17 to 0-11 in the provincial decider.

The first-half finished with Cloughduv ahead by 0-8 to 0-6 as Ballinameela were left to count the cost of nine wides in that period.

An impressive second-half showing saw Cloughduv finish with six points to spare.

Brian Verling took the scoring honours for the winners with a return of ten points.

Cloughduv - J Buckley; P Buckley, B Ahern, S Curzon; G Ahern, D O'Leary, E Clifford; M Walsh (0-2), A Murphy; M Verling (0-1), A Cronin (0-1), D Corkery; B Verling (0-10, 7f), J Ryan (0-2), J Moynihan (0-1). Subs: G Egan for D Corkery, D Sullivan for G Ahern, A Twomey for S Curzon, K Barry Murphy for A Cronin, K Walsh for D O'Leary.

Ballinameela - D Looby; R Shine, M Shine, K Looby; K Phelan, D Phelan (0-1), L Looby; P Curran (0-2), T Curran; L O'Brien, Brendan Phelan (0-6, 5f), C Culloo; J Curran (0-1), Brian Phelan (0-1), C Buckley. Subs: M Culloo for C Buckley, E Walsh for C Culloo, M Phelan for J Curran.

Referee - J Mullins.

Most Read Stories