SH challenge: Sutcliffe returns but Gilroy's Dubs play second fiddle to Tipp

January 06, 2018

Tipperary's Jason Forde celebrates.
©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Tipperary 1-26
Dublin 0-12

By John Fallon

Tipperary pulled away in the second-half of a sometimes fiery senior hurling challenge match at Dr Morris Park in Thurles.

A minute's silence was observed before the game as a mark of respect to the late Tom Ryan, father of Tipperary manager Michael Ryan, who has passed away and it was a decent workout for both sides with Pat Gilroy continuing to get to know his charges as he prepares for his first national league campaign in charge.

Both sides fielded a mix of experienced players and newcomers in a match where neither side held back, with two melees breaking out in the second-half.

A goal from Jason Forde after 22 minutes helped Tipperary lead by 1-8 to 0-9 at the interval, having played against the breeze.

Dublin had started the better and with Paul Winters, Fergal Whitely and Tom Connolly finding the range, they led by 0-5 to 0-2 after eleven minutes before Tipp rallied.

Forde's goal made it 1-5 to 0-6 but the Dublin response was good with Winters, Whitely and Daire Gray edging them back in front, but two more points from Forde and one from Ronan Maher left Tipp two up at the break.

Both sides made a host of changes in the second-half but Tipperary's sharper touch saw them pull away and they produced a very strong final quarter to run out convincing winners on a day when Danny Sutcliffe made his return to the Dublin colours and the returning Cathal Barrett lined out at midfield for Tipp.

Tipperary scorers: J Forde 1-10 (0-6f), N McGrath 0-4 (0-1f), R Maher 0-3, S Curran 0-3, D McCormack 0-2, P Feehan 0-1, M Breen 0-1, S Nally 0-1, J Cahill 0-1.

Dublin scorers: P Winters 0-5 (0-4f), F Whitely 0-2, D Grey 0-2, A Moore 0-1, T Connolly 0-1, D Burke 0-1 (f).

Tipperary: D Mooney; P Maher, J Dwyer, D Maher; S Kennedy, B Heffernan, P Feehan; C Barrett, R Maher; P 'Bonner' Maher, N McGrath, S Curran; N O'Meara, J Forde, C Darcy. Subs: M Breen, J Cahill, S Nally, S O'Brien, D McCormack, T Hamill.

Dublin: A Nolan; P Smyth, B O'Carroll, C Hendricken; S Barrett, D Kelly, C Crummey; J McCaffrey, T Connolly; D Sutcliffe, F Whitely, D Gray; A Moore, P Winters, J Hetherton.

Referee: Phillip Kelly (Ballinahinch).

Most Read Stories