HS hurling team of the week

June 17, 2019

Players battle for a loose ball during the Leinster SHC round 5 clash between Wexford and Kilkenny at Innovate Wexford Park. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Here are the players that made our team of the week after a drama-packed weekend in the hurling championship…


1. Alan Nolan (Dublin)

Scored an inspirational long-range point as Dublin upset the odds against the Tribesmen on home turf.

2. Paddy Smyth (Dublin)

Dublin were dealt a blow when full-back Eoghan O’Donnell was forced off with injury in the 14th minute but Smyth & Co coped well in his absence.

3. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

Maher was superb in the sweeper role as Liam Sheedy’s side restricted the Liam MacCarthy Cup holders to nine scores from play.

4. Jack Browne (Clare)

The Banner County players bowed out of this year’s championship with their heads held high and Browne delivered a determined display against Cork.
5. Chris Crummey (Dublin)

Fouled for a penalty and scorer of the all-important third goal – the captain’s performance was key to Dublin’s victory over Galway.

6. Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)

Given the onerous task of trying to curtail TJ Reid’s influence, the Model County joint captain didn’t let his side down.

7. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

The no-nonsense defender was at his miserly best in Innovate Wexford Park and chipped in with a sensational point.

8. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)

Wexford supporters will be hoping that O’Keeffe – who sent over four first-half points – can reproduce this performance in the Bob O’Keeffe Cup decider.

9. Colm Galvin (Clare)

The Clonlara clubman’s finger prints were all over the Banner County’s five-point victory over Cork.

10. Conal Keaney (Dublin)

The veteran Ballyboden ace proved that age is just a number in contributing three points to his team’s winning tally.

11. Peter Duggan (Clare)

Duggan’s 12-point haul was a key ingredient in Clare’s winning formula.

12. Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

With Declan Hannon sidelined through injury, Morrissey took over as captain and raised three white flags in the second-half against Tipp.

13. Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)
The Ballyhale newcomer finished as top scorer from play in Innovate Wexford Park with a return of 1-3.

14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

The Premier County captain continued his rich vein of scoring form with a return of 1-4 against the All-Ireland champions.

15. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Along with Alan Cadogan, ‘Hoggie’ asked plenty of questions of the Clare defence but the Rebels came up short on this occasion.

Most Read Stories