FL3 round-up: unbeaten Longford go top

February 10, 2019

Louth's Ciaran Downey, Longford's Conor Berry and Evan O'Carroll of Laois.

Longford are top of Division Three, while Louth and Laois also picked up their second victories today.

Longford - the only unbeaten team in the third tier after three rounds - moved to the top of the pile, making it five points from a possible six when beating Carlow by 1-11 to 0-9 at Dr Cullen Park, susbtitute Conor Berry claiming the game’s only goal.

At Portlaoise, second-half goals from Stephen Attride and Donie Kingston propelled Laois to a crucial 2-18 to 2-10 victory over Sligo. Evan O’Carroll pointed eight times for the winners, while substitute Barry O’Gorman plundered two late consolation goals for the Yeats County, who remain pointless.

And Louth made it back-to-back wins when emerging from Tullamore with a 2-10 to 2-8 defeat of relegation-threatened Offaly. John Maughan’s men led by six points with 50 minutes played but a Declan Hogan own goal in injury time ultimately won it for the Wee County.

Offaly were ahead by 2-5 to 1-3 at the break, having played with the wind, Ciaran Downey palming Louth’s first goal to the net in between Faithful County majors from Anton Sullivan and Shane Horan.

Longford - P Collum; D Quinn, A Farrell, B Farrell; C P Smyth (0-2), B McKeon, D Mimnagh (0-1); D Gallagher (0-3f), M Quinn; S Donohoe; N Rabbitte (0-1), M Hughes; P Hanley, L Connerton (0-2), P Lynn. Subs: J Hagan (0-1) for P Lynn, C Berry (1-1) for N Rabbitte, D Doherty for S Donohoe.

Carlow - R Molloy; C Crowley, S Redmond, B J Molloy; J Morrissey (0-1), E Ruth, C Lawlor; B Murphy, S Murphy; S Gannon (0-1), D Foley (0-2), S Clarke; D Walshe, D O’Brien (0-2, 1f), D St Ledger. Subs: P Broderick (0-3f) for D Walshe, B Kavanagh for S Clarke.

Referee - N Cullen.


Laois - G Brody; D Seale, S Nerney, G Dillon; M Scully, S Attride (1-0), C Begley; K Meaney, J O’Loughlin; D O’Reilly (0-1), D Kingston (1-3, 0-1m), C Boyle (0-1); P Cahillane (0-2, 1f), E O’Carroll (0-8, 1f, 1m), M Barry (0-1). Subs: R Tyrrell for K Meaney, S O’Flynn for C Boyle, E Lowry for M Barry, C Murphy (0-2) for E O’Carroll, R Munnelly for P Cahillane.

Sligo - A Devaney (0-2f); N Mullen, P Laffey, J Carr; L Nicholson, P McNamara, G O’Kelly Lynch; P Kilcoyne, A McIntyre; L Gaughan (0-3), S Carrabine, C Henry; A Marren (0-4, 3f), P O’Connor, N Murphy. Subs: B O’Gorman (2-1, 0-1m) for N Murphy, N Ewing for C Henry, A McLoughlin for S Carrabine, D Cummins for L Nicholson.

Referee - F Smyth.


Louth - F Sheeky; F Donohoe, E Carolan, J Craven; A Williams, B Duffy, J Clutterbuck; T Durnin (0-2, 1f), C Early; C Brannigan, C Downey (1-0), C McKeever; A McDonnell, S Mulroy (0-6, 4f, 1'45), D Byrne. Subs: E Duffy (0-1) for A McDonnell, J McEneaney for C Downey, R Nally for D Byrne, J Califf for C Brannigan, R Moore (0-1) for C McKeever. Offaly (1-0og).

Offaly - P Dunican; D Hogan, E Rigney, D Dempsey; J O’Connor, P McConway, C Donohue; C Mangan, J Moloney; S Horan (1-0), P Cunningham (0-2f), N Darby (0-1); B Allen (0-4, 3f), A Sullivan (1-0), R McNamee (0-1). Subs: N McNamee for R McNamee, E Carroll for C Donohue, D Molloy for C Mangan, A Leavy for J Moloney.

Referee - J Bermingham.

Most Read Stories