Underdogs face Dublin on a bumper weekend of GAA on TG4

October 16, 2018

Ray Silke, Valerie Mulcahy, Paul Galvin - TG4 Underdogs 2018

TG4 will have live coverage of the Underdogs against Dublin on Friday night with county finals in Donegal and Clare also set for broadcast on Sunday.

GAA Beo will provide live coverage for the Underdogs series finale from Parnell Park in Dublin next Friday, 19th October.  The broadcast will start at 7:20pm, with match throw-in at 7:45pm.

The Underdogs team is managed by former Galway Captain Ray Silke, former Cork Ladies Footballer Valerie Mulcahy and former Kerry footballer Paul Galvin. The Underdogs is a unique group of players, from different GAA clubs all across the country and these footballers have never played at senior intercounty championship level before.

Over the last few weeks we have seen the players’ trials and training and listened to them tell their own stories on the Underdogs series on TG4.  Now, after months of preparation and intense training they are ready to take on the Dubs.

The original Underdogs series began on TG4 in 2003 and launched the careers of a number of All-Ireland champions, not least Kerry powerhouse Kieran Donaghy and Cork’s Pearse O’Neill.

On Sunday there is live coverage of the Donegal SFC final between Gaoth Dobhair and Naomh Conaill with the Clare SHC final between Ballyea and Cratloe deferred.

The Underdogs panel are as follows:

Adam Wilson                          (Scoil Uí Chonaill, Co. Dublin),
Anthony Durney                     (Moorefield GAA, Co. Kildare)
Blake Forkan                           (St. Eunan’s, Co. Donegal originally from Killtimagh, Co. Mayo)
Calum Gallagher                     (Naomh Bríd, Co. Donegal)
Ciarán Mac Fhearghusa          (Na Gaeil Óga, Co. Dublin)
Colm Flynn                              (Ballymahon GAA, Co. Longford)
Conor McKenna                      (Éire Óg Doire Achaidh, Co. Antrim)
Cormac Doohan                      (Ballaghaderreen GAA, Co. Roscommon)
Daragh Murrin                        (Duninkeely, Co. Donegal)
Darragh O’Shea                       (Ballydonoghue GAA, Co. Kerry)
DJ Murphy                               (Gneeveguilla GAA, Co. Kerry)
Eamon O’Donoghue               (Padraig Pearses, Co. Roscommon)
Enda Fleming                          (Corofin, Co. Galway)
Fintan Ó Cuanaigh                  (St. James, Co. Galway)
Gary O’Daly                             (St. Mary’s, Co. Leitrim)
Graham Heavey                      (Ballyboden St. Enda’s, Co. Dublin)
Michael Molloy                       (John Mitchel’s Liverpool originally from Co.Donegal)
Micheál McCarville                 (Scotstown GAA, Co. Monaghan)
Niall Canning                           (Drumcliff Rosses Point, Co. Sligo)
Nigel Rabbitt                           (Northern Gaels, Co. Longford)
Richie Greene                         (Athlone GAA, Co. Westmeath)
Ronan O’Neill                          (Derrytresk GFC, Co. Tyrone)
Ruairi Cunningham                 (Clonmore Robert Emmets, Co. Armagh)
Ryan Treanor                          (Thomas Clarke’s, Co. Tyrone)
Sam McCurdy                          (O’Dwyers GAA, Co. Dublin)
Seán Brady                              (St. Treas Ballymaguigan, Co. Derry)
Stephen Harford                     (Round Towers, Co. Dublin)
Steven Scallan                         (O’Loughlin Gaels, Co. Kilkenny)
Trevor Murtagh                      (St. Barry’s, Co. Roscommon)


Friday 19 October

Underdogs v Dublin, Parnell Park, Throw-in at 7:45pm, Tickets for the game are available on www.tickets.ie

Sunday 21 October
 3:30pm   Live coverage begins on TG4
LIVE  -  Donegal Senior County Football Final  - Gaoth Dobhair v Naomh Conaill -  Live from Mac Cumhaill Park, Ballybofey  (4pm throw-in)
DEFERRED  -  Clare Senior Hurling County Final - Ballyea v Cratloe from Cusack Park, Ennis

Most Read Stories