Kildare SFC: Moorefield make fifth final in six years

October 08, 2018

Moorefield's Eanna O'Connor. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Reigning county and provincial champions Moorefield are into their fifth Kildare SFC final in six years after beating Naas in Newbridge yesterday.

Ross Glavin's charges were never seriously troubled by their opponents as they ran out 0-17 to 0-9 winners having led from pillar to post at St Conleth's Park. 

Aaron Masterson and Daryl Flynn dominated at midfield while the quartet of Adam Tyrrell, Eanna O’Connor, who scored 0-5 each, Eddie Heavey and Niall Hurley-Lynch caused the county town side lots of problems up front.

Moorefield will defend their Dermot Bourke crown against Athy on 21 October.

Meanwhile, Leixlip have been relegated from the senior ranks following their 0-13 to 0-12 loss to Clane in Saturday's play-off at Hawkfield.

Most Read Stories