Team news: Lynch and Hannon two notable omissions from Limerick starting 15

June 14, 2019

Limerick's Cian Lynch celebrates.
©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Reigning Hurler of the Year Cian Lynch and last year's All-Ireland winning captain Declan Hannon are two of the notable omissions from the Limerick starting 15 named for Sunday's Munster SHC round 5 showdown with Tipperary at Semple Stadium (throw-in 2pm).

Lynch has been surprisingly dropped to the bench by John Kiely, along with Gearoid Hegarty and Graeme Mulcahy, while Hannon's absence is believed to be injury-related. Dan Morrissey, Darragh O'Donovan, Shane Dowling and Seamus Flanagan are the four players called into the side.

Limerick (Munster SHC v Tipperary): Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Dan Morrissey, Paddy O’Loughlin; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue; Shane Dowling, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Peter Casey.

Subs: Barry Hennessy, Conor Boylan, Tom Condon, Aaron Costello, Gearoid Hegarty, Cian Lynch, Graeme Mulcahy, Barry Nash, David Reidy, Colin Ryan, Pat Ryan.


Limerick (Munster MHC v Tipperary): Jack Franklin; Ronan Lyons, Michael Keane, Fergal O'Connor; Jimmy Quilty, Ethan Hurley, Adam Murrihy; Patrick Kirby, Patrick Reale; Liam Lynch, Cathal O’Neill, Cían Casey; Aidan O'Connor, Adam English, Patrick O'Donovan.

Subs: TJ Kelly, Michael Cremin, Sean Mortell, Darragh Casey, Odhran O'Dwyer, Brian O’Meara, Conor Hanley Clarke, Eddie Stokes, Diarmuid Hegarty.

Make sure to visit the match tracker this weekend for live coverage from Leinster and Munster SHC round 5 and the Connacht SFC final between Galway and Roscommon.

Most Read Stories