Munster SHL final: Kelly-inspired Banner put Tipp to the sword in second-half

January 13, 2019

Tipperay's Willie Connors tackles Ryan Taylor of Clare. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

An attendance of 4,531 witnessed Clare get their hands on the Munster SHL silverware at the expense of Tipperary in the Gaelic Grounds today.

Goals from Tony Kelly (2), Cathal McInerney and Colin Guilfoyle sent the Banner County on the road to a 4-19 to 1-18 final success.

Captain Kelly led by example throughout and he finished with 2-3 (2-2 from play) to his name.

Clare captain Tony Kelly lifts the Munster SHL trophy with Munster Council Chairman Jerry O'Sullivan. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

The former ‘Hurler of the Year’ and McInerney found the back of the Premier County net in the first-half and the sides went in level at the break – Clare 2-5, Tipperary 0-11.

Seamus Callanan top scored for the Liam Sheedy managed Tipp with 0-9 but he was powerless to prevent his team from slipping to a 10-point defeat.

Second-half goals from Guilfoyle and Kelly were the highlights of an impressive showing by the Donal Moloney/Gerry O’Connor managed outfit.

Substitute Dan McCormack, meanwhile, netted a late consolation goal for the losing side.

Clare - D Tuohy; J McCarthy, D McInerney, R Hayes; C Malone, C Cleary, A McCarthy; S Golden (0-2), R Taylor (0-2); N Deasy (0-3, 2f), T Kelly (2-3, 0-1f), D Ryan (0-3); C Guilfoyle (1-3), C McInerney (1-2), M O’Neill. Subs: P Collins for M O’Neill, D Conroy for D Ryan, M O’Malley (0-1) for A McCarthy, G Cooney for C McInerney, J Browne for R Hayes.

Tipperary - B Hogan; C Barrett, Padraic Maher, D Maher; A Flynn (0-2), S Kennedy, Joe O’Dwyer; W Connors, M Breen; J Forde (0-5, 1sl), Patrick Maher, C English; J Morris, S Callanan (0-8, 6f, 1'65), M Kehoe (0-2). Subs: R Maher for W Connors, N McGrath (0-1) for J Morris, D McCormack (1-0) for M Kehoe, K O’Dwyer for C Barrett, R Byrne for S Kennedy.

Referee - T Walsh.

Most Read Stories