Sweeney new Tipp captain as Kearns reveals 2019 league squad

November 20, 2018

Tipperary's Conor Sweeney celebrates a score against Cork

Tipperary football manager Liam Kearns has drafted in two of the county’s senior hurling squad from this past summer for his team’s 2019 Allianz League campaign.

Both Paudie Feehan and Paul Maher are named in the Premier men’s panel after having been left out of the squad which new hurling boss Liam Sheedy named last week.

Feehan was part of Tipp’s All-Ireland U21 hurling success in August and featured for the senior footballers last year, while Maher played in the All-Ireland U21 football final against Tyrone in 2015.

Along with revealing his squad, Kearns has named ace attacker Conor Sweeney of Ballyporeen as team captain for next season with Moyle Rovers’ defender Alan Campbell taking up the vice captaincy.

Tipperary 2019 football league squad:

Conor Sweeney (Captain) (Ballyporeen)

Alan Campbell (Vice-Captain) (Moyle Rovers)

Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

Ciarán Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)

Michael O’Reilly (Clonmel Commercials)

Paddy Codd (Killenaule)

Shane O’Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle)

Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)

Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)

Dave McGrath (Moyle Rovers)

John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney)

Gavin Whelan (Ardfinnan)

Paudie Feehan (Killenaule)

Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch)

Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)

Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)

Liam Casey (Cahir)

Steven O’Brien (Ballina)

Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)

Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)

Conal Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)

Cian O’ Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle)

Ben Hyland (Fr. Sheehy’s)

Paul Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

Paul Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane)

Jack Delahunty (Newport)

Daire Brennan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)

Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)

Philip Austin (Borrisokane)

Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)

Dan O’Meara (Kiladangan)

Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers)

Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)

Darragh O’Leary (Ardfinnan)

Shane Foley (Moyle Rovers)

Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

Tommy Lowry (Arravale Rovers)

Most Read Stories