HL quarter-final: Dubs shock Tipp in Thurles thriller

March 16, 2019

Dublin's Oisin O'Rourke holds possession ahead of Tipperary's James Barry

Dublin 1-21

Tipperary 0-23

Fergal Whitely's fifth-minute goal proved all-important as Dublin shocked Tipperary at Semple Stadium to earn an Allianz League semi-final date with All-Ireland champions Limerick next weekend.

The hosts were left to rue a tally of 18 wides as they were brought crashing back down to earth with a bang after last Sunday's impressive win over Cork. Dublin were never headed in a game that was watched by an attedance of 3,503.

Whitely gave Mattie Kenny's underdogs a dream start by raising the game's only green flag after Oisin O'Rorke's initial shot had been blocked. Chris Crummey and Sean Moran added points before Tipp recovered in the second quarter with scores from Seamus Callanan, Noel McGrath and Jake Morris. But their wayward shooting let the visitors off the hook as they took a 1-10 to 0-9 lead into the break.

Liam Sheedy's men were level within four minutes of the restart thanks to points from Jason Forde (two frees), Noel McGrath and Jake Morris, but they couldn't get their noses in front, despite the return of 2016 All-Ireland winning captain Brendan Maher from a cruciate ligament injury in the 46th minute.

Another sub, Mark Kehoe, sent over a brace of points as Tipp drew level again, but Dublin weren't to be denied as late scores from Eamonn Dillon, Sean Moran and Paul Ryan gave them victory by the narrowest of margins.

Dublin - A Nolan; P Smyth, E O’Donnell (0-1), D Gray; C Crummey (0-1), S Moran (0-5, 3f, 1‘65), D O’Connell; R McBride (0-1), S Treacy; J Malone (0-1), C Conway, D Sutcliffe; O O’Rorke (0-5, 4f), F Whitely, E Dillon (1-3). Subs: C Boland (0-2) for S Treacy, J Hetherton for C Conway, P Ryan (0-2) for F Whitely, R Hayes for J Malone, D Treacy for O O’Rorke.

Tipperary - P Maher; C Barrett, J Barry, R Maher (0-1); Joe O’Dwyer, Padraic Maher, R Byrne; N McGrath (0-4, 1f), M Breen (0-1); J Morris (0-3), N O’Meara (0-1), J Forde (0-7, 6f); John O’Dwyer, S Callanan (0-2), J McGrath (0-1). Subs: Patrick Maher for J McGrath, B Maher (0-1f) for R Byrne, M Kehoe (0-2) for John O’Dwyer, A Flynn for M Breen, D Maher for N McGrath.

Referee - P Murphy.

Most Read Stories