Sligo elect new chairman

December 19, 2018

An aerial view of the new Markievicz Park surface. Pic by Eamonn McMunn (via Sligo GAA on Twitter).

Sligo GAA have elected Brendan Leonard as their new chairman.

Outgoing chairman Joe Taaffe had to step down due to the five-year rule and the race to replace him was between Leonard and Gerry O’Connor.

The Tourlestrane clubman came out on top by 58 votes to 31 in what was one in a number of elections on the night.

Taaffe was elected to the position of assistant treasurer after he defeated Johnny Watters by 67 votes to 24, while Bart Barrins is the new PRO who defeated Keith Henry by 48 to 40.

The Sligo Champion reports that Taaffe was praised by delegates for what he achieved during his tenure as chairman.

Most Read Stories