HL2/3: Antrim and Offaly enjoy facile wins

February 23, 2020

Antrim's Neil McManus celebrates after scoring a goal against Kildare.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Antrim and Offaly maintained their promotion push in Division 2A of the Allianz Hurling League with emphatic victories over Meath and Mayo respectively.

With Kerry all but assured of a place in the divisional final, it's a two-horse race to see who will join them. Early goals from Keelan Molloy and Eoghan Campbell paved the way for Antrim's 5-27 to 1-15 hammering of Meath at Portglenone. A bad day for the Royals was compounded by the dismissals of Alan Douglas and Luke Moran.

The Saffrons led by 2-13 to 0-8 at the break and added three more goals after the restart per James McNaughton and Neil McManus (two).

Offaly were even bigger winners over Mayo, 5-29 to 1-13, at the Connacht Centre of Excellence in Bekan. 

Rising star David Nally bagged 3-2 for Michael Fennelly's side, while David King and Oisin Kelly also raised green flags. Eoghan Cahill top-scored with 0-12, while Mayo's goal was scored by Brian Morley in the second half.

Kildare and Down joined Derry on six points at the top of Division 2B after wins over Roscommon and London. Kildare defeated the Rossies by 5-21 to 2-12 at Hawkfield, while Down cruised to a 2-26 to 0-16 win over London in Ruislip.

Armagh lead the way in Division 3A after edging out Louth by 1-19 to 1-18 at the Athletic Grounds. Tyrone ended Longford's unbeaten run with a 0-23 to 1-15 victory in Garvaghey, while Donegal had 10 points to spare, 1-15 to 1-5, over basement side Monaghan in Letterkenny.

In Division 3B, Sligo claimed the local bragging rights over Leitrim after they prevailed by 2-17 to 1-15 at Markievicz Park.

Antrim - C McAllister; P Duffin, M Donnelly, S Rooney; G Walsh (0-1), P Burke, J Maskey (0-1); E Campbell (1-2), K Molloy (1-2); J McNaughton (1-2), N McManus (2-9, 0-2f, 0-2'65), M Bradley (0-1); D Nugent (0-2), N McKenna (0-2), D McCluskey. Subs: A O’Brien (0-2) for G Walsh, N McKeague (0-1) for E Campbell, C Johnson for M Donnelly, A Delargy for J McNaughton, R Molloy (0-2) for M Bradley.

Meath - C Ennis; S Geraghty, S Brennan, S Morris (0-1); K Keoghan, J Toher (0-2), L Moran; M Burke, P Potterton; D Healy, P O’Hanrahan (0-9, 6f), J Regan; M Mullen, A Douglas (0-1), E O Donnchadh. Subs: S Whitty for P Potterton, J Kelly for M Mullen, N Potterton (1-2) for E O Donnchadh, C O’Sullivan for J Regan, P Slevin for S Morris.

Referee - S Stack.


Offaly - J Dempsey; A Flynn, B Conneely, P Rigney; B Watkins, C Kiely (0-1f), B Murphy (0-2); D King (1-0), E Cahill (0-12, 6f); L Fox (0-4, 1f), O Kelly (1-1), P Geraghty; J Sampson (0-1), S Cleary (0-2), D Nally (3-2). Subs: M Egan for B Conneely, L Langton (0-4) for P Geraghty, D O'Toole for M Egan, D Doughan for A Flynn, C Gath for B Murphy, R Ravenhill for J Sampson.

Mayo - G Kelly; G Nolan, T Sweeney, C Murray; C Henry, S Mulroy (0-1), M Phillips; D Huane (0-1), B Hunt; A Phillips, C Freeman (0-1), S Boland (0-6, 4f); E Delaney, B Morley (1-0), S Kenny (0-4, 1f). Subs: B Douglas for G Kelly, Z O'Toole for E Delaney, J Coyne for A Phillips.

Referee - N Wall.


Kildare - P McKenna; C Forde, J Doran, S Lacey; N O Muineachain (0-1), R Kelly, R Boran; P Divilly (0-2), A Kelly; Cathal Dowling (0-2), B Byrne (1-11, 0-9f), J Burke (1-0); C Kielty (1-0), J Sheridan (2-4), S Ryan (0-1). Subs: C Gordon for C Forde, C Smith for C Kielty, Conor Dowling for Cathal Dowling, C Melville for P Divilly, D Molloy for S Ryan.

Roscommon - P Dolan; A Moore, J Kilkenny, P Nolan; M Byrne, P Kellehan, G Egan; Conor Coyle, S Curley; C Dolan (0-10, 9f), C Kennelly, N Connaughton; C Egan (1-1), P Kelly, MJ Egan (1-1). Subs: D Treacy for Conor Coyle, Cormac Coyle for C Egan, E Costello for S Curley, J Lawlor for P Nolan, M Kellehan for P Kelly.

Referee - M Murtagh.

Most Read Stories