Full back pick: Club football team of the decade

May 22, 2020

Conor McGill, Coalan Young, Niall Mckeigue and Barry Smith

Meath club football has been renowned for producing some outstanding players that would hold down a place on any team in the country.

Royal County Meath Yearbook has acknowledged these talented players every year when picking the Football Team of the Year. 

With no resumption of action on the horizon due to Covid-19 we will with your assistance pick our Club Football Team of the Decade taking one position at a time.

Players picked in that position since 2010

2010 David Gallagher Dunboyne

2011 Kenny McTigue Dunshaughlin

2012 Niall McKeigue O’Mahonys

2013 Caolan Young Summerhill

2014 Niall McKeigue O’Mahonys

2015 Conor McGill Ratoath

2016 James Colgan Donaghmore Ashbourne

2017 Stephen Moran Simonstown

2018 Barry Smith Gaeil Colmcille

2019 Conor McGill Ratoath

The number 3 position has never been a problem, club or county wise. O’Mahony’s Niall McKeigue has been nominated twice along with present day county full back and All Star nominee Conor McGill. Former International Rules keeper David Gallagher ruled the edge of the square in 2011. Veteran Gaeil Colmcille defender Barry Smith was named at number 3 in 2018.

Make your choice on our facebook page

The story so far

Goalkeeper: 2010 Cillian Comaskey Carnaross, 2011 Tony McDonnell Summerhill, 2012 Marcas Brennan O’Mahonys, 2013 Shane Geraghty Na Fianna, 2014 Jack Hannigan Donaghmore Ashbourne, 2015 Marcas Brennan O’Mahonys, 2016 Robbie Burlingham Simonstown, 2017 Liam Hogan Curraha, 2018 Cian Flynn Dunboyne, 2019 Shane Duffy Ratoath

Number 2: 2010 Mark Jordan Skryne, 2011 Davy Dalton Summerhill, 2012 Stephen O’Toole O’Mahonys, 2013 Stephen O’Brien Ratoath, 2014 Conor Carton Donaghmore Ashbourne, 2015 James Reilly O’Mahonys, 2016 Shane Gallagher Simonstown, 2017 Shane Gallagher Simonstown, 2018 Seamus Lavin Dunboyne, 2019 Shane Gallagher Simonstown

Most Read Stories